Karol Bagh | IAS GS Foundation Course | 29 May, 6 PM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

News Analysis

Important Facts For Prelims

AUKUS Grouping

  • 16 Sep 2021
  • 3 min read

Why in News

Recently, the US has announced a new trilateral security partnership for the Indo-Pacific, between Australia, the UK and the US (AUKUS).

  • The major highlight of this arrangement is the sharing of US nuclear submarine technology to Australia.

Key Points

  • Focusing on Indo-Pacific: The security grouping AUKUS will focus on advancing strategic interests in the Indo-Pacific region.
    • Though the US has explicitly denied that the grouping is targeted against China, its Indo-pacific orientation makes it an alliance against China’s assertive actions in the South China Sea.
    • The three countries alongside Canada and New Zealand already share extensive intelligence through the Five Eyes alliance.
  • Transferring Nuclear Submarines to Australia: As part of this initiative, Australia will acquire nuclear-powered submarines with help from the UK and the US.
    • This step is significant because the US has only shared nuclear submarine technology once before, and it started in 1958 with Great Britain.
    • Nuclear submarines that are quieter than their conventional counterparts but also more capable of being deployed for longer periods and needing to surface less frequently.
    • Alongside India’s stated intent to acquire more nuclear-powered submarines, it will amount to a step-change increase in the Quad’s undersea and anti-submarine warfare capabilities.
      • Quad is a grouping of India, USA, Australia and Japan.
    • Australia is now set to join an elite group of only six countries – India, the US, the UK, France, Russia and China – that operate nuclear-powered submarines. It will also be the only country to have such submarines without having a civilian nuclear power industry.
  • Multi-Sectoral Cooperation: AUKUS will also involve a new architecture of meetings and engagements between the three countries, as well as cooperation across emerging technologies (applied AI, quantum technologies and undersea capabilities).

Five Eyes Alliance

  • The Five Eyes alliance is an intelligence-sharing arrangement between five English-speaking democracies: the US, UK, Canada, Australia and New Zealand.
  • The alliance was created during the Cold War (1946-1991) that was fought between the United States and the Soviet Union, as well as their respective allies.
  • The alliance was needed to share sensitive information regarding their adversaries on all possible fronts available.
  • It is often described as the world's most successful intelligence alliance.

Source: TH

SMS Alerts
Share Page