Online Courses (English)
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates

Important Facts For Prelims

AUKUS Grouping

Star marking (1-5) indicates the importance of topic for CSE
  • 16 Sep 2021
  • 3 min read

Why in News

Recently, the US has announced a new trilateral security partnership for the Indo-Pacific, between Australia, the UK and the US (AUKUS).

  • The major highlight of this arrangement is the sharing of US nuclear submarine technology to Australia.

Key Points

  • Focusing on Indo-Pacific: The security grouping AUKUS will focus on advancing strategic interests in the Indo-Pacific region.
    • Though the US has explicitly denied that the grouping is targeted against China, its Indo-pacific orientation makes it an alliance against China’s assertive actions in the South China Sea.
    • The three countries alongside Canada and New Zealand already share extensive intelligence through the Five Eyes alliance.
  • Transferring Nuclear Submarines to Australia: As part of this initiative, Australia will acquire nuclear-powered submarines with help from the UK and the US.
    • This step is significant because the US has only shared nuclear submarine technology once before, and it started in 1958 with Great Britain.
    • Nuclear submarines that are quieter than their conventional counterparts but also more capable of being deployed for longer periods and needing to surface less frequently.
    • Alongside India’s stated intent to acquire more nuclear-powered submarines, it will amount to a step-change increase in the Quad’s undersea and anti-submarine warfare capabilities.
      • Quad is a grouping of India, USA, Australia and Japan.
    • Australia is now set to join an elite group of only six countries – India, the US, the UK, France, Russia and China – that operate nuclear-powered submarines. It will also be the only country to have such submarines without having a civilian nuclear power industry.
  • Multi-Sectoral Cooperation: AUKUS will also involve a new architecture of meetings and engagements between the three countries, as well as cooperation across emerging technologies (applied AI, quantum technologies and undersea capabilities).

Five Eyes Alliance

  • The Five Eyes alliance is an intelligence-sharing arrangement between five English-speaking democracies: the US, UK, Canada, Australia and New Zealand.
  • The alliance was created during the Cold War (1946-1991) that was fought between the United States and the Soviet Union, as well as their respective allies.
  • The alliance was needed to share sensitive information regarding their adversaries on all possible fronts available.
  • It is often described as the world's most successful intelligence alliance.

Source: TH

SMS Alerts

Please login or register to view note list


Please login or register to list article as bookmarked


Please login or register to make your note


Please login or register to list article as progressed


Please login or register to list article as bookmarked