Karol Bagh | GS Foundation Course | 28 March, 8 AM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates

Important Facts For Prelims

Tejas Jets for Delivery

  • 08 Aug 2022
  • 2 min read

Why in News?

The Government of India has offered to sell 18 Light-Combat Aircraft (LCA) “Tejas” to Malaysia.

  • Argentina, Australia, Egypt, the United States, Indonesia, and the Philippines were also interested in the single-engine jet.
  • The Indian government gave a USD6 billion contract to state-owned Hindustan Aeronautics Limited in 2021 for 83 of the locally produced Tejas jets for delivery starting around 2023.

What is Tejas Aircraft?

  • About:
    • The Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) programme was started by the Government of India in 1984 when they established the Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) to manage the LCA programme.
    • It replaced the ageing Mig 21 fighter planes.
  • Designed by:
    • Aeronautical Development Agency under the Department of Defence Research and Development.
  • Manufactured by:
    • State-owned Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL).
  • Features:
    • The lightest, smallest and tailless multi-role supersonic fighter aircraft in its class.
    • Designed to carry a range of air-to-air, air-to-surface, precision-guided, weapons.
    • Air to air refuelling capability.
    • Maximum payload capacity of 4000 kg.
    • It can attend the maximum speed of Mach 1.8.
    • The range of the aircraft is 3,000km
  • Variants of Tejas:
    • Tejas Trainer:
      • 2-seater operational conversion trainer for training air force pilots.
    • LCA Navy:
      • Twin- and single-seat carrier-capable for the Indian Navy.
    • LCA Tejas Navy MK2:
      • This is phase 2 of the LCA Navy variant.
    • LCA Tejas Mk-1A:
      • This is an improvement over the LCA Tejas Mk1 with a higher thrust engine.

Source: IE

SMS Alerts
Share Page