Karol Bagh | GS Foundation Course | 16 February, 8 AM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates


Odisha’s Border Disputes

  • 08 Feb 2021
  • 3 min read

Why In News

Recently, a border dispute between Odisha and Andhra Pradesh once again resurfaced when Andhra Pradesh announced panchayat polls in three villages of Kotia panchayat in Koraput district of Odisha.

Key Points

  • Border Disputes of Odisha:
    • Odisha was carved out of the Bengal-Bihar-Odisha province on 1st April, 1936, but the inter-state border disputes continue even today.
    • Odisha continues to have unresolved border disputes with four neighbouring States in its 8 out of 30 districts.
    • 14 of the 30 districts share borders with Andhra Pradesh, West Bengal, Chhattisgarh and Jharkhand. However, the disputes over Kotia villages in Koraput district bordering Andhra Pradesh is the only major border conflict.
  • About the Kotia Dispute:
    • Odisha and Andhra Pradesh are locked in a territorial dispute over Kotia gram panchayat since 1960. Disputes pertain over 21 villages in Kotia gram panchayat.
    • Residents of Kotia panchayat receive benefits from both Pottangi block in Koraput and Salur in Vizianagaram district of Andhra Pradesh. They depend on both the blocks for their day to day activities.
  • Water Dispute with Andhra Pradesh:
  • Disputes with Other States:
    • West Bengal:
      • Odisha and West Bengal have disputes over 27 plots in Balasore District and some areas in Mayurbhanj district of Odisha.
      • Mayurbhanj district is known for its iron ore reserves and Chhau dance (a tribal dance in which dancers wear colorful masks).
    • Jharkhand:
      • The border dispute between Odisha and Jharkhand arises due to change in course of river Baitarani.
        • The Baitarani river originates from the hill ranges of Keonjhar district of Odisha.
        • It is an east flowing river of peninsular India, flowing eastward and joining the Bay of Bengal.
        • Major portion of its catchment lies in the state of Odisha and a small patch of the upper reach falls in Jharkhand.
    • Chhattisgarh:
      • With Chhattisgarh, Odisha has disputes relating to villages in Nabarangpur and Jharsuguda district.
      • The Central Government constituted Mahanadi Water Disputes Tribunal in 2018.

Way Forward


SMS Alerts
Share Page