Online Courses (English)
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates

Important Facts For Prelims

Padma Awards 2021

  • 27 Jan 2021
  • 3 min read

Why in News

Recently, the Padma Awards for the year 2021 were announced on the occasion of 72nd Republic Day.

Key Points

  • Awardees (2021):
    • A total of 119 Padma awards will be conferred, including 7 padma vibhushan, 10 padma bhushan and 102 padma shri.
  • Few Padma Vibhushan Awardees (out of 7)
    • Shri Shinzo Abe (Japan), Shri S P Balasubramaniam (Posthumous), Dr. Belle Monappa Hegde (Medicine), Shri Sudarshan Sahoo (Art), etc.
  • Few Padma Bhushan Awardees (out of 10)
    • Ms. Krishnan Nair Shantakumari Chithra, Shri Tarun Gogoi, Ms. Sumitra Mahajan, Shri Ram Vilas Paswan, etc.
  • Few Padma Shri Awardees (out of 102)
    • Shri Gulfam Ahmed (Art), Ms. P. Anitha (Sports), Shri Rama Swamy Annavarapu (Art), etc.
  • Background:
    • The Padma Awards are announced annually on the Republic Day (26th January).
    • Instituted in 1954, it is one of the highest civilian honours of India.
  • Objective:
    • The Award seeks to recognize achievements in all fields of activities or disciplines where an element of public service is involved.
  • Categories:
    • The Awards are given in three categories:
      • Padma Vibhushan (for exceptional and distinguished service),
      • Padma Bhushan (distinguished service of higher-order) and
      • Padma Shri (distinguished service).
    • Padma Vibhushan is highest in the hierarchy of Padma Awards followed by Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.
  • Disciplines:
    • The Awards are given in various disciplines/ fields of activities, viz.- art, social work, public affairs, science and engineering, trade and industry, medicine, literature and education, sports, civil service etc.
  • Selection Process:
    • Padma Awards Committee: The Awards are conferred on the recommendations made by the Padma Awards Committee, which is constituted by the Prime Minister every year.
    • Awarded by President: The awards are presented by the President of India usually in the month of March/April every year.

Bharat Ratna

  • Bharat Ratna is the highest civilian award of the country.
  • It is awarded in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavour.
  • It is treated on a different footing from Padma Award. The recommendations for Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President of India.
  • The number of Bharat Ratna Awards is restricted to a maximum of three in a particular year.

Source: IE

SMS Alerts

Please login or register to view note list


Please login or register to list article as bookmarked


Please login or register to make your note


Please login or register to list article as progressed


Please login or register to list article as bookmarked