Online Courses (English)
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates

Important Facts For Prelims

Blue-finned Mahseer

  • 04 Jun 2021
  • 3 min read

Why in News

Recently, the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) has moved Blue-finned Mahseer from Endangered to the Least Concern’ status on its Red List.

Key Points

  • About:
    • The Mahseer belongs to the genus Tor, of which there are several subspecies to be found in India and in other range countries in South Asia.
    • The Blue-finned Mahseer or Tor Khudree is one of the subspecies of the Mahseer.
  • Habitat:
    • Mainly found in the Mota Mola river east of Pune. This species is also found in other rivers of the Deccan Plateau.
    • The species is migratory; moving upstream during rains. It prefers clean, fast flowing and well oxygenated waters.
  • Threats:
    • Threatened by habitat manipulation, over harvesting and competition from other fish species.
  • Significance:
    • Freshwater Ecosystem Indicator:
      • It is very sensitive to dissolved oxygen levels, water temperature and sudden climatic changes. It just cannot bear pollution.
    • Cultural:
      • They have cultural and religious significance as well as they are protected in ‘temple sanctuaries’ across India.
  • Conservation Initiatives:
    • Tata Power (private company) is involved in conservation of the blue-finned for 50 years in Lonavala (near Pune), Maharashtra.
  • Protection status:
    • IUCN Red List: Least Concern

International Union for Conservation of Nature

  • About:
    • IUCN is a membership union uniquely composed of both government and civil society organisations.
    • Created in 1948, it is the global authority on the status of the natural world and the measures needed to safeguard it. It is headquartered in Switzerland.
  • The Red List:
    • The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species, is the world's most comprehensive inventory of the global conservation status of plant and animal species.
    • It divides species into nine categories: Not Evaluated, Data Deficient, Least Concern, Near Threatened, Vulnerable, Endangered, Critically Endangered, Extinct in the Wild and Extinct.
    • It is recognized as the most authoritative guide to the status of biological diversity.

Source: IE

SMS Alerts

Please login or register to view note list


Please login or register to list article as bookmarked


Please login or register to make your note


Please login or register to list article as progressed


Please login or register to list article as bookmarked