Online Courses (English)
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates

Important Facts For Prelims

Sumatran Rhino

  • 25 Nov 2019
  • 1 min read

Why in News

The Sumatran rhinoceros has become extinct in Malaysia, after the death of the last rhino in the country.

Sumatran Rhino

  • Its scientific name is Dicerorhinus sumatrensis and is the smallest of all rhino species.
  • It is listed as Critically Endangered on the IUCN Red List of Threatened Species.
  • The World Wild Life (WWF) estimates that there are only about 80 of them and are left mainly in Sumatra and Borneo in Indonesia.
  • Black Rhino, White Rhino, Greater One-Horned Rhino, Javan Rhino and Sumatran Rhino are the five different species of Rhino.
    • The three species of Rhino in Asia — Greater one-horned, Javan and Sumatran. Javan and Sumatran Rhino are critically endangered and the Greater one-horned (or Indian) rhino is vulnerable in the IUCN Red List.
    • They are spread across India, Nepal, Bhutan, Indonesia and Malaysia. These countries are also known as Asian Rhino Range Countries.
    • Only the Great one-horned rhino is found in India.

Source: IE

SMS Alerts
Share Page