Karol Bagh | GS Foundation Course | 28 March, 8 AM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates

Important Facts For Prelims

Squash World Cup 2023

  • 14 Jun 2023
  • 4 min read

Why in News?

Recently, the WSF (World Squash Federation) board has decided the Venue for the 2023 Squash World Cup to be held in Chennai, Tamil Nadu.

  • There are eight teams from four different continents playing in the Chennai Squash World Cup: Australia; Colombia; Egypt; Hong Kong, China; India; Japan; Malaysia; South Africa.

What is Squash?

  • About:
    • Squash is a game of agility, strategy, talent, and physical and mental strength.
      • Squash offers numerous health benefits and has been recognized as the healthiest sport by Forbes Magazine.
    • It can be played year-round, in any weather condition, and by players of all skill levels, making it a sport that anyone can enjoy. 
  • Overview:
    • Squash is typically played by two players for singles matches or four players for doubles matches.
    • The game is played on a four-walled court with a small, hollow rubber ball. The ball should be hit against the front wall, above the tin (a boundary line near the floor) and below the outline.
    • A match consists of the best of either three or five games. Each game is played with 11 points. The first player to reach 11 points wins the game, unless the score becomes 10-all. In that case, the game continues until one player leads by two points.

What is the Squash World Cup?

  • About:
    • The Squash World Cup is an International Tournament in which national team squads represented by two men and two women play ties of four matches against each other.
  • History:
    • The first Squash World Cup took place in 1996 in Petaling Jaya, Malaysia, with 16 teams participating.
      • Australia, the top seeds, defeated England, the second seeds, in the final with a score of 3-0.
    • In 1999, England became champions in 's-Hertogenbosch, Netherlands.
    • In 2011, Egypt lifted the trophy in Chennai. In the following year, an Under 21 World Cup was held in Chennai.
  • Changes:
    • 2023's event has introduced some changes. Teams now have gender parity, meaning equal representation of male and female players.
    • Additionally, the games are played to seven points, which is a first in the history of the World Squash Federation.
  • Rules:
    • Competition Format: The World Cup will consist of two round-robin pools, followed by a knockout stage.
    • Team Composition: Ties shall be contested by teams of two men and two women.
    • Match Scoring: All matches will be played to a best of 5 games to 7 points. At 6-6, the game will still be played to 7 points.

What is the World Squash Federation (WSF)?

  • Formed in 1967, the WSF is the International Federation for squash, also a member of the General Association of International Sports Federations (GAISF) and of the Association of IOC Recognised International Sports Federations (ARISF).
  • WSF has a membership of 123 National Squash Federations and a close working alliance with its five Continental Federations.

Source: TH

SMS Alerts
Share Page