Karol Bagh | GS Foundation Course | 29 April, 11:30 AM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates

Important Facts For Prelims

Sahitya Akademi Awards 2019

  • 19 Dec 2019
  • 2 min read

Why in News

Recently, Sahitya Akademi has announced its annual Sahitya Akademi Awards 2019.

  • The awardees will receive an engraved copper-plaque, a shawl and an amount of Rs. 1 lakh.
    • Indian film-maker Satyajit Ray is the designer of the plaque awarded by the Sahitya Akademi.

Sahitya Akademi Awards

  • Sahitya Akademi award established in 1954, is a literary honour that is conferred annually by Sahitya Akademi, India’s National Academy of letters.
  • Akademi gives 24 awards annually to literary works in the languages it has recognized and an equal number of awards to literary translations from and into the languages of India.
    • Besides the 22 languages enumerated in the Constitution of India, the Sahitya Akademi has recognised English and Rajasthani as languages in which its programme may be implemented.
  • Sahitya Akademi award is the second-highest literary honour by the Government of India, after Jananpith award.
  • Criteria:
    • The author must be of Indian Nationality.
    • Book/work eligible for the award must be an outstanding contribution to the language and literature to which it belongs.
    • When equal merit for books of two or more are found, certain criteria like total literary contribution and standing of authors shall be taken into consideration for declaring award.

Source: PIB

SMS Alerts
Share Page
× Snow