Karol Bagh | GS Foundation Course | 16 February, 8 AM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates

Important Facts For Prelims

SAFF Championship 2023

  • 06 Jul 2023
  • 2 min read

Why in News?

Recently, India marked a remarkable victory in the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) Championship 2023 held in Bengaluru, Karnataka, securing their ninth title by defeating Kuwait in a thrilling football match.

What is SAFF Championship?

  • About:
  • Origin and Evolution:
    • Founding members:
      • India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal, and Maldives.
    • Expansion:
      • Bhutan joined in 2000, while Afghanistan became a member in 2005 before moving to the Central Asian Football Association (CAFA) in 2015.
    • Evolution:
      • The South Asian football tournament started as the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) Gold Cup in 1993.
      • It was later renamed the South Asian Gold Cup in 1995 and became the SAFF Gold Cup from 1997 to 2005.
      • Since 2008, it has been known as the SAFF Championship.
  • India's Performance:
    • Men's SAFF Championship:
      • India has been a powerhouse in the tournament, reaching the finals in all editions except 2003.
      • India has won nine men’s SAFF Championship titles out of the 14 editions.
    • Women's SAFF Championship:
      • India has enjoyed success in the SAFF Championship, winning the inaugural edition in 2010 and subsequently securing victories in 2012, 2014, 2016, and 2019.

Source: TH

SMS Alerts
Share Page