Karol Bagh | GS Foundation Course | 29 April, 11:30 AM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates

Important Facts For Prelims

Legion of Merit: USA

  • 23 Dec 2020
  • 2 min read

Why in News

Recently, the USA has awarded the ‘Legion of Merit’ to the Prime Ministers of India, Japan and Australia.

Key Points

  • About the Award:
    • One of the USA’s highest military decorations, the award was instituted in 1942 by former President Franklin D. Roosevelt.
    • It is awarded to members of the USA armed forces and also members of foreign (i.e. non-USA) armed forces and sometimes heads of state or government.
    • The award is presented to foreign recipients in four categories: Chief Commander, Commander, Officer and Legionnaire.
    • There have been two Indian recipients of the honour in the past: Field Marshal K M Cariappa in 1950, and Gen S M Srinagesh in 1955.
  • Current Receivers:
    • Indian PM has been given this award for his role in “advancing the India-USA relationship”.
      • The award recognises the efforts of the people of India and the USA to improve bilateral ties, reflected in the bipartisan consensus in both countries about the Indo-USA Strategic Partnership.
    • Australian PM was presented the award for “addressing global challenges and promoting collective security”.
    • Japanese PM for his “leadership and vision for a free and open Indo-Pacific”.

Source: TH

SMS Alerts
Share Page
× Snow