UPPCS GS Foundation Live Online Course | 6 DecemberCall Us
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates

Important Facts For Prelims

Dholpur-Karauli: India’s 54th Tiger Reserve

  • 29 Aug 2023
  • 3 min read

Source: TOI

Why in News?

National Tiger Conservation Authority (NTCA) has given its approval for the establishment of the Dholpur-Karauli Tiger Reserve in the state of Rajasthan.

  • It has secured its position as the fifth tiger reserve in the state of Rajasthan following Mukundra Hills, Ramgarh Vishdhari, Ranthambore, and Sariska.

What are Tiger Reserves?

  • A protected area designated for the conservation of the striped big cats (tigers) is referred to as Tiger Reserve. However, a tiger reserve may also be a national park or wildlife sanctuary.
    • For Example: The Sariska Tiger Reserve is also a national park. It is so because the place was originally created as a national park and later dedicated to tiger conservation.
  • Tiger Reserves are notified by State Governments as per provisions of Section 38V of the Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972 on advice of the National Tiger Conservation Authority.
    • Presently, India accommodates a total of 54 Tiger Reserves (with the most recent addition being the Dholpur-Karauli Tiger Reserve).


  • India is home to 75% of the world’s tiger population. As per the latest report on the Status of Tigers in India, the tiger count in the country has surged to 3,167 as of 2022.
  • Project Tiger is an ongoing centrally sponsored program of the Ministry of Environment, Forests, and Climate Change that provides government assistance to tiger states for tiger conservation in designated tiger reserves

What is the National Tiger Conservation Authority?

  • About:
    • The NTCA is a statutory body under the Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change constituted under enabling provisions of the Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972, as amended in 2006, for strengthening tiger conservation.
  • Objectives:
    • Providing statutory authority to Project Tiger so that compliance of its directives becomes legal.
    • Fostering accountability of Center-State in management of Tiger Reserves, by providing a basis for MoU with States within our federal structure.
    • Addressing livelihood interests of local people in areas surrounding Tiger Reserves.

UPSC Civil Services Examination, Previous Year Question (PYQ)

Q1. Consider the following protected areas: (2012)

  1. Bandipur
  2. Bhitarkanika
  3. Manas
  4. Sunderbans

Which of the above are declared Tiger Reserves?

(a) 1 and 2 only 
(b) 1, 3 and 4 only 
(c) 2, 3 and 4 only
(d) 1, 2, 3 and 4

Ans: (b)

Q2. From the ecological point of view, which one of the following assumes importance in being a good link between the Eastern Ghats and the Western Ghats? (2017)

(a) Sathyamangalam Tiger Reserve
(b) Nallamala Forest
(c) Nagarhole National Park
(d) Seshachalam Biosphere Reserve

Ans: (a)

SMS Alerts
Share Page