हिंदी साहित्य: पेन ड्राइव कोर्स
This just in:

Ethics, Integrity & Aptitude

Ethics in Buddhism & Jainism

  • 13 Sep 2018
  • 5 min read

Ethics in Buddhism

  • Buddhist ethics are neither arbitrary standards invented by man for his own utilitarian purpose nor are they arbitrarily imposed.
  • Man-made laws and social customs do not form the basis of Buddhist ethics.
  • Buddhist ethics finds its foundation not on the changing social customs but rather on the unchanging laws of nature.

Morality in Buddhism

  • Buddhist morality judges an as action good or bad basing on the intention or motivation from which it originates.
  • Actions that have their roots in greed, hatred or selfishness are considered to be bad - called Akusala Kamma.
  • Actions which are rooted in the virtues of generosity, love and wisdom are meritorious and good - called Kusala Kamma.

Three Essentials for Life

  • Buddhism considers - Wisdom (Prajna), Ethical conduct (Sila) and the Concentration (Samadi) as the three essentials for life.
  • Wisdom comes from right view, it leads to the right intention.
  • The right view and intentions are guides to ethical conduct - right speech, right action, right livelihood and right effort.
  • Concentration - pointed focus is ‘self – activity’ to have right mindfulness and right concentration.
  • When wisdom, ethics and concentration become way of life; one gains enlightenment.

Pancasila (Five Refrains)

  • Buddhism invites Buddhists to adopt five precepts voluntarily in order to live together in civilised communities with mutual trust and respect.
  • Following these five precepts helps the Buddhist make a spiritual journey towards liberation. These are:
    1. no killing,
    2. no stealing,
    3. no lying,
    4. no sexual misconduct, and
    5. no intoxicants.

Ten Demeritorious Deeds

  • People are advised to keep away from deeds rooted in greed, hatred, and delusion as they will bring suffering to others.
  • These ten deeds are divided into three sets:
    1. Actions of the Body: Bodily actions such as killing of living beings, stealing, and unlawful sexual intercourse.
    2. Verbal Actions: lying, slander, harsh speech, and meaningless talk.
    3. Actions of the Mind: Covetousness or being desirous, especially of things belonging to others, ill-will, wrong views.

Ethics in Jainism

  • Jainism provides threefold path known as Triratna (three jewels) for the attainment of Moksha (salvation):
    1. Right faith (Samyag Darsana),
    2. Right knowledge (Samyag Jnana),
    3. Right conduct (Samyag Caritra).
  • They work like a medicine to cure a sick mind– faith in its efficacy, knowledge by its use and actual taking of the medicine, right conduct.


In general, Jaina morality consists of the essential observance of Pancha-mahavratas which are the ingredients of right conduct. They are:

  1. Ahimsa – nonviolence or abstinence from all injuries to life, either trasa (mobile) or sthavara (immobile).
    • Jainism emphasises upon equality to all life, so killing a living being is violence.
    • Hurting others through speech by intentional insults and by making others suffer emotionally is also violence.
    • Since a householder cannot lead a life without violence, therefore, one should discharge his/her worldly responsibilities with the minimum injuries to others.
    • But killing animals for eating is strictly prohibited.
  2. Satyam - Abstinence from falsehood; rather that speaking what is true, good and pleasant.
    • One should not hesitate to tell the truth even when his/her life is in danger.
    • But at the same time; if the truth results brings harm to others, in such case, the truth should be withheld in the interest of the others.
  3. Asteyam - Abstinence from stealing.
    • Stealing has various dimensions such as – stealing others property, directing others to steal, receiving stolen property or retaining things with a motto ‘finders keepers’.
  4. Brahmacharya - abstinence from sensual and casual pleasures.
    • A person must not look at women with an evil intention.
    • Treat opposite genders with respect.
  5. Aparigraha - Abstinence from amassing wealth greedily or any kind of attachments.
    • Each householder needs money to lead a decent life but mindless accumulation of wealth leads to suffering and unhappiness.
    • Therefore, one must have limited necessity and learn to be content.
SMS Alerts

Please login or register to view note list


Please login or register to list article as bookmarked


Please login or register to make your note


Please login or register to list article as progressed


Please login or register to list article as bookmarked