Online Courses (English)
This just in:

State PCS

State PCS Current Affairs

Uttar Pradesh
Switch To Hindi

Talents of the State Honored with Laxman and Rani Laxmibai Award on Uttar Pradesh Day

  • 25 Jan 2023
  • 3 min read

Why In News?

24On January 2023, on the inauguration of Uttar Pradesh Day celebrations, the Governor and The Chief Minister honored the talents of the state with Laxman and Laxmibai Awards for their achievements in sports.

Key points

  • On Uttar Pradesh Day celebrations, Laxman Award, Rani Laxmibai Award, Commonwealth Award winners were honored and Vivekananda Youth Award was given to 16 people.
  • Under the Mati Kala Board Khadi Village Industries, six people were also given awards at the hands of the Chief Minister and the Governor.
  • the Rani Laxmibai talents who have been awarded Among the 12 Laxman Award are Lucknow-based handball players Mohit Yadav and Kanpur Nagar's Jyoti Shukla and Lucknow-based para-badminton player Suhas L.Y.
  • Apart from this, 28 players who won medals and participated in the Commonwealth Games held in Birmingham, UK from July 14 to August 8 last year were also rewarded. The silver medal winners were given cheques worth Rs 75 lakh, bronze medallists Rs 50 lakh and participants Rs 5 lakh.
  • In the individual category, 10 youth and 6 Mangal Dal category (male and female) were awarded the Chief Minister's State Level Vivekananda Youth Award 2021-22. These include Amarendra Kumar and Rohit Kumar Kashyap of Lucknow.
  • Youth Mangal Dal (Chairman Shravan Kumar) of Sonari Gram Panchayat of Bhadar Development Block of Amethi, Youth Mangal Dal of Tarauli Gram Panchayat of Gangeshwari Development Block of Amroha for the first-second and third prize under the collective category. (Chairman Nitesh Nagar), Yuvak Mangal Dal (Chairman Jeet Narayan) of Biharojpur Gram Panchayat of Digh development block of Bhadohi was selected.
  • Mahila Mangal Dal (Chairman Komal) of Neeli khedi Gram Panchayat of Dhanaura Development Block of Amroha, Mahila Mangal Dal (Chairman Pallavi) of Sadipur Gram Panchayat of Musafirkhana Development Block of Amethi, Tekari Sahan Gram Panchayat of Deh Development Block of Rae Bareilly Mahila Mangal Dal (Chairman Asha) was selected.
  • List of sportspersons to be honoured -
    • Rani Laxmibai Award
      • General Category: Jyoti Shukla (Kanpur, Handball), Neha Kashyap (Meerut, Wushu)
      • Year 2020-21 - Veteran Category: Taruna Sharma (Meerut, Judo)
      • Year 2021-22 - General Category: Manisha Bhati (Gautam Budh Nagar, Wushu)
    • Laxman Award
      • Year 2020-21 - General Category: Mohit Yadav (Lucknow)
      • Year 2020-21 - Veteran category: Rahul Singh (Varanasi, Hockey), Janardan Singh (Ghazipur, Wrestling)
      • Year 2021-22 - Veteran Category: Md. Arif (Gorakhpur, Hockey), Radheshyam Singh (Azamgarh, Athletics)
      • Year 2021-22 - Divyangjan Category: Suhas LY (Para Badminton, Lucknow), Vivek Chikara (Meerut, Archery), Deependra Singh (Sambhal Shooting).
SMS Alerts
Share Page