Karol Bagh | GS Foundation Course | 16 February, 8 AM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates

International Relations

SCO ‘Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure (RATS)’ Meeting

  • 21 May 2022
  • 4 min read

For Prelims: SCO, RATS, Council of RATS-SCO

For Mains: Diplomatic and Economic relations of India with SCO, Bilateral relations of India with SCO member nations

Why in News?

Recently, a meeting held between the member nations of the SCO under the framework of the SCO’s Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure (RATS). It is the first such meeting in India since Russia’s evasion of Ukraine and China’s transgression along the Line of actual control.

  • SCO-RATS meeting agenda is to boost cooperation in fighting different global and regional security challenges.
  • India has chaired the Council of Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure of SCO (RATS SCO).

What is the Agenda Discussed in the Meeting?

  • Situation of Afghanistan and security concerns raised due to the fall of Afghanistan in the hands of the Taliban was the main agenda of the meeting.
  • India has expressed a strong desire to strengthen its security cooperation with the SCO and its Regional Anti-Terrorism Structure, which focus on security and defence matters.

What is Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure-SCO?

  • SCO-RATS is a permanent body of the Sanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO).
  • It is promoting coordination and interaction between the SCO member states as per as fight against terrorism, extremism and separatism are concern.
  • The main functions of SCO-RATS are information sharing.
  • As a member, India has actively participated in the activities of SCO-RATS.
  • India’s permanent membership would enable it to generate greater understanding among members for its perspective.

What is the Shanghai Cooperation Organization?

  • About:
    • SCO was created in 2001.
    • The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) was established as a multilateral association to ensure security and maintain stability across the vast Eurasian region.
    • It envisages joining forces to counteract emerging challenges and threats, and enhance trade, as well as cultural and humanitarian cooperation.
    • Prior to the creation of SCO in 2001, Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan were members of the Shanghai Five.
      • Shanghai Five (1996) emerged from a series of border demarcation and demilitarization talks which the four former Soviet republics held with China to ensure stability along the borders.
    • Following the accession of Uzbekistan to the organization in 2001, the Shanghai Five was renamed the SCO.
    • The SCO Charter was signed in 2002 and entered into force in 2003. The SCO's official languages are Russian and Chinese.
    • SCO has two Permanent Bodies:
      • SCO Secretariat in Beijing,
      • Executive Committee of the Regional Anti-Terrorist Structure (RATS) in Tashkent.
  • Member Nations: Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, India, Pakistan.
    • Recently, Iran’s bid to become a full member of the SCO has been approved.

Source: TH

SMS Alerts
Share Page