Online Courses (English)
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates


Nagaland Extends ILP in Dimapur

  • 11 Dec 2019
  • 3 min read

Why in News

Recently, the Nagaland government has extended the Inner Line Permit (ILP) system to the district of Dimapur.

  • This step was taken to exempt the entire district from the purview of the Citizenship Amendment Bill (CAB).
  • So far, Dimapur was the only place in Nagaland which was not under the ILP system because the district is a commercial hub and has a mixed population (often referred to as ‘Mini India’).
  • Recently Manipur has also been brought under the purview of ILP System. Thus, the entire northeast India has been exempted from CAB except for Sikkim and non-tribal areas in Assam and Tripura.

Key Points

  • The extension of ILP to Dimapur has been issued under section 2 of the Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulation, 1873 by the governor of Nagaland.
  • The extension of the ILP regime makes it mandatory for “every non-indigenous person” who entered the district after November 21, 1979, to obtain an ILP within 90 days.
  • Exemptions:
    • Any non-indigenous persons living in Dimapur prior to November 21, 1979, with a certificate from the Deputy Commissioner.
    • Any non-indigenous person passing through Dimapur to other states as a transit passenger with a valid document.

Citizenship Amendment Bill,2019 and North-East India

  • Protected by the ILP System: Nagaland, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Mizoram have been exempted from the provisions of the Citizenship Amendment Bill (CAB), 2019
  • Sixth Schedule Areas: The whole of Meghalaya (except a part of Shillong), Mizoram and the tribal areas of Tripura and Assam are also exempted from the CAB.
    • The Sixth Schedule contains special provisions for the administration of tribal areas in the four north-eastern states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram.

Inner Line Permit

  • Inner Line Permit is an official travel document issued by the concerned State Government to allow inward travel of an Indian citizen into a protected/restricted area for a limited period.
  • It is a special permit required by “outsiders” from other regions of the country to enter the notified states.
  • It is based on the Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulation Act (BEFR), 1873.
    • This act was enacted during the British era to protect the British interests from the hill tribals who used to invade the British subjects.
    • An imaginary line known as the inner-line was created to divide between the two communities so that neither party could go beyond the line without a permit from the appropriate authorities.

Source: TH

SMS Alerts

Please login or register to view note list


Please login or register to list article as bookmarked


Please login or register to make your note


Please login or register to list article as progressed


Please login or register to list article as bookmarked