Online Courses (English)
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates

Important Facts For Prelims
Switch To Hindi

Important Facts for Prelims (27th December 2018)

  • 27 Dec 2018
  • 3 min read

Three Andaman Islands to be Renamed in Honour of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose

  • Three Andaman Islands- the Havelock, Ross, and Neil Island will be officially renamed on the occasion of 75th anniversary of Subhas Chandra Bose’s historic visit to the islands.
  • The Havelock Island will be renamed Swaraj Dweep, the Ross Island will be called Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose Island and Neil island will be renamed Shaheed Dweep.
  • S.C. Bose hoisted the Indian national flag at the Gymkhana Ground (now Netaji Stadium) in Port Blair on 30 December 1943.
  • Andaman Islands were the first Indian territory to be freed from British rule after the Japanese defeated the British forces during World War II.
  • At the time, Bose had named Andaman Island as Shaheed and Nicobar Island as Swaraj. Bose had also appointed Indian National Army (INA) General AD Loganathan as its Governor.

Two Separate High Courts for Andhra Pradesh and Telangana

  • Following a Supreme Court order to notify the bifurcation of the Andhra Pradesh and Telangana High Courts by January 1, the President has ordered the separation of the common Hyderabad High Court into the two separate High Courts of Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.
  • Both will function separately from January 1, 2019.
  • According to the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014, both States were to have a common high court, till separate ones were formed.
  • Article 214 of the Constitution provides that there shall be a High Court for each State.

  • With the creation of the new high court, the country now has 25 high courts.
  • Justice Ramesh Ranganathan, who is at present the Chief Justice of Uttarakhand High Court, will head the new High Court of Andhra Pradesh. It will have 15 judges besides the chief justice.
  • Ten judges, who were part of the common high court, will now be the judges of the Telangana High Court.
  • The principal seat of the Andhra Pradesh High Court is Amaravati, the capital of the State. The High Court in Hyderabad will function separately as the High Court of the State of Telangana.
SMS Alerts
Share Page