Karol Bagh | GS Foundation Course | 29 April, 11:30 AM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

Uttar Pradesh State PCS

  • 01 Dec 2022
  • 3 min read
  • Switch Date:  
Uttar Pradesh Switch to Hindi

Ten Heritage Sites have been Selected in the Second Phase of the 'Adopt a Heritage Scheme'

Why In News?

  • On November 30, 2022, Renu Dwivedi, Director, Directorate of Archaeology, Uttar Pradesh, informed that 10 heritage sites have been selected in the second phase of 'Adopt a Heritage Scheme' in the state.

Key Points

  • Renu Dwivedi said that in the second phase of 'Adapt a Heritage Scheme', Potra Kund (Mathura), Kalpa Devi and Astik Baba Temple (Sitapur), Buddhist Caves of Deogarh (Lalitpur), Raj Mandir Guptar Ghat (Ayodhya), Lakshmi Temple (Jhansi), Tahrauli, Alambagh Bhawan of Lucknow Fort (Jhansi), Balabehat Fort (Lalitpur), Digara Garhi (Jhansi) and Shiv Mandir (Tikait Rai Bithoor Kanpur) have been included.
  • He said that a five-year Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) will be signed with Smarak Mitra, under which work will have to be done on the adopted heritage. Along with preserving the heritage, memorial friends will also be able to earn income through temporary construction and other means there.
  • State Assistant Archaeology Officer Dr. Rajiv Trivedi said that the work to be done on the monuments has been fixed by the memorial friend. Signage, drinking water, electricity, sewerage, public facilities, Wi-Fi, benches, dustbins, lighting, approach roads and pathways, cafeterias, ramps and wheelchair arrangements for the differently-abled will have to be done at the site.
  • A memorial committee has also been constituted to monitor the work done by the memorial friends on the adopted heritage, which will inspect from time to time.
  • Smarak Mitras will not be able to maintain and preserve the adopted heritage. This work will be done by the department according to archaeological standards. Memorial friends will be able to get temporary construction done but cannot impose any entry fee on the monument.
  • Renu Dwivedi said that the scheme of adoption of heritage was started in collaboration with the State Directorate of Archaeology, Tourism Department and other stakeholders to provide high-level tourism facilities at monuments and archaeological sites. In the first phase of the scheme, 11 monuments and archaeological sites of the state were selected for adoption.

 Switch to Hindi
SMS Alerts
Share Page