Karol Bagh | IAS GS Foundation Course | 29 May, 6 PM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

State PCS Current Affairs


Outstanding District Magistrate Award

  • 26 Dec 2022
  • 4 min read

Why In News?

In a program organized on Good Governance Day in Dehradun, Uttarakhand on December 25, 2022, Governor Lt. Gen. Gurmeet Singh (Retd.) honored five District Magistrates of the state with the Outstanding District Magistrate Award 2022 for various notable works including the successful management of the Chardham Yatra.

Key Points

  • In this programme, Haridwar District Magistrate Vinay Shankar Pandey was felicitated for the smooth management of the Kanwar Yatra that started after the Covid lockdown, Nainital District Magistrate Shri Dhiraj Singh Garbiyal for employment schemes in the tourism sector, Pauri District Magistrate Dr. Ashish Chauhan for Bedu products, Rudraprayag District Magistrate Mayur Dixit was awarded for promotion of tourism and Chamoli District Magistrate Himanshu Khurana for successful management of Chardham Yatra.
  • Governor Lt Gen Gurmeet Singh said that the district administration is the most important step for better implementation of the schemes of the government. The District Magistrates who were awarded have played an important role in solving the problems of the public with awareness and honesty.
  • The Governor said that the objective of good governance is to ensure inclusive and all-round development. To ensure top to bottom and bottom to top governance flow, there is a need for a direct, emotional connect between the administration and the public.
  • Secretary to the Governor, Dr. Ranjit Kumar Sinha said that earlier there was no arrangement to reward the District Magistrates separately. The Governor has decided to reward the District Magistrates for their excellent efforts.
  • Administration Secretary Vinod Kumar Suman said that applications were invited from the districts for the Outstanding District Magistrate Award-2022. The District Magistrates made presentations before the High-Level Committee headed by the Chief Secretary. District Magistrates were selected for the award after the approval of the Governor and the Chief Minister.
  • Due to these achievements, district magistrates were awarded-
    • Haridwar District Magistrate Vinay Shankar Pandey made smooth management of the Kanwar Yatra, which started after the Kovid lockdown. Haridwar was also awarded the best place in Ganga Town by the President due to the campaign to clean the ghats.
    • Nainital District Magistrate Dhiraj Garbiyal achieved achievements in many fields by doing new experiments with collective public participation. He is also credited with his efforts towards apple production and implementing employment-oriented schemes in the field of tourism in the district.
    • When Pauri District Magistrate Dr Ashish Chauhan was earlier posted in Pithoragarh district, the Prime Minister appreciated his efforts with the Women Self Help Group for bedu products in his 'Mann Ki Baat' program.
    • Rudraprayag District Magistrate Mayur Dixit is being praised for promoting tourism, expanding health services in far-flung areas and running the reconstruction of the present grand Kedarpuri at the right pace.
    • Chamoli District Magistrate Himanshu Khurana successfully managed the yatra to Badrinath Dham and Hemkund Sahib. He also played an important role in the timely and smooth completion of the construction works of Badrinath Dham Master Plan.
SMS Alerts
Share Page