Karol Bagh | IAS GS Foundation Course | 29 May, 6 PM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

State PCS Current Affairs


List of total 44 Notified Wetlands in 19 Districts released in the state

  • 20 Jul 2023
  • 4 min read

Why in News?

On July 19, 2023, Additional Chief Secretary of Rajasthan Forest, Environment & Climate Change Department, Shikhar Agarwal said that taking a historic step in the field of conservation and integrated management of wetlands by the Department of Environment & Climate Change, a list of total 44 notified wetlands has been issued in 19 districts of the state, under which Baran district of the state will have maximum 12 wetlands.

Key Points:

  • 44 wetlands in 19 districts of the state will strengthen the ecosystem in the state and provide a better food chain for wildlife. Wetlands, which are recognized as the kidneys of the earth, play an important role in maintaining the natural balance as well as in environmental protection and water harvesting and purification.
  • According to the notification issued by the Environment & Climate Change Department, there will now be a total of 44 notified wetlands (wetlands) areas in the state, under which wetlands in Baran district include Eklera Sagar, Kotrapar Talab, Bethali Dam, Hinglot Dam, Utavali Dam, Sehrol Dam, Garda Talab, Niyana Talai, Nahargarh, Teja Ji Ki Talai, Pushkar Talab, Lhasi Dam.
  • There are Devi Kund Sagar and Sursagar under Bikaner district, Naval Sagar Lake under Bundi district, Mangalwad Lake, Kishan Kareri, Barwai Lake, Gambhiri Dam, Dungarpur District, Sabela Pond in Dungarpur District, Naval Sagar Lake under Bundi District, Bird Sanctuary Canvas, Kishore Sagar, Hanotia under Kota, Didwana (Khalda) in Nagaur District, Pali District The lake includes Lakhotia Talab and Lordia Talab, Rajyawas and Raghav Sagar wetlands under Rajsamand district.
  • Apart from these, there are Rewasa in Sikar district, Buddhasagar, Bisalpur, Chandlai, Motisagar, Galwania, Tordi Sagar in Sikar district, Menar Talab Wetland Complex in Udaipur district, Chawandia in Bhilwara district, Kesariyawad in Pratapgarh district, Lakherao Talab in Sirohi district, Ajmer district Bada Talab, Rankhar in Jalore district, Badbela Talab in Jhalawar district are included.
  • According to the notification, there will be a ban on any kind of encroachment in the wetland & surrounding areas and there will be a ban on setting up any new industry & expansion of existing industries.
  • Along with this, there will be a ban on the collection and disposal of solid, hazardous & e-waste. Food items given by common people to fish and migratory birds will be banned. Commercial mining, stone quarrying along with crushing units will also be banned. There will be an effective ban on any type of hunting.
  • All commercial activities that emit pollution including activities that reduce the area and potential of wetlands will be prohibited. Also, any type of groundwater extraction will be prohibited.
  • According to the notification, fish farming, operation of boats, desilting, temporary construction, and drainage of water for special purposes can be done in the wetlands area.
  • What are wetlands:
  • Known as 'Kidney of the Landscape' and 'Biological Supermarket', such moist and marshy land, which is partially or completely filled with water throughout the year.
  • Wetlands are ecosystems that absorb excess water during floods so that areas of human habitation are protected from submergence.
  • Apart from this, by performing important roles like 'carbon absorption' and an increase in 'ground water level', wetlands contribute significantly to environmental protection.

SMS Alerts
Share Page