Karol Bagh | IAS GS Foundation Course | 29 May, 6 PM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

State PCS Current Affairs


East Zone Junior Hockey Competition

  • 28 Mar 2023
  • 2 min read

Why in News?

Both women and men teams of Jharkhand have become champions in the East Zone Junior Hockey Championship held at Astroturf Hockey Stadium Birsa College Campus, Khunti under the joint aegis of Hockey Jharkhand and District Administration, Khunti from 19 to 26 March 2023.

Key Points

  • In a hockey game between Jharkhand and Mizoram in the women's section, both the teams were tied with two goals each. After this, Jharkhand won the match 2-1 in the penalty shootout.
  • Jharkhand team's goalkeeper Anupam Horo was given the player of the match award.
  • The men's final was played between Hockey Jharkhand and Hockey Odisha, in which Jharkhand won 3-1.
  • Deepak Soreng of the Jharkhand team was given the player of the match award.
  • Jharkhand Sports Minister Hafizul Hasan Ansari honored the first, second and third place teams in the competition with medals.
  • The third and fourth place women's match was played between Odisha and Bihar, in which Odisha won the match 10-0 and won the bronze medal. Odisha's Supriya Kujur was adjudged player of the match.
  • In the men's section, a Hockey match was played between Bengal and Bihar, in which the Bihar team emerged victorious by 3-1. Aman Kumar of Bihar team was adjudged player of the match.
SMS Alerts
Share Page