Karol Bagh | GS Foundation Course | 29 April, 11:30 AM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates

Science & Technology

Nobel Prizes 2019

  • 15 Oct 2019
  • 3 min read

The Nobel Foundation has declared the complete list of winners for 2019.

Field Winners Work Recognized
Physics James Peebles Theoretical discoveries in physical cosmology

Michel Mayor
Didier Queloz

Discovery of an exoplanet “ 51 Pegasi b” orbiting a solar-type star.
Chemistry John B Goodenough,
M Stanley Whittingham,
Akira Yoshino
Development of lithium-ion batteries.
Physiology/ Medicine William G. Kaelin Jr,
Sir Peter J. Ratcliffe,
Gregg L. Semenza
For discoveries on how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability
Economic Sciences Abhijit Banerjee,
Esther Duflo,
Michael Kremer
For the experimental approach to alleviating global poverty.
Literature Peter Handke - 2019

For an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human experience.

Olga Tokarczuk - 2018 For a narrative imagination that with encyclopedic passion represents the crossing of boundaries as a form of life.
Peace Abiy Ahmed Ali
(Prime Minister of Ethiopia)
For an initiative to resolve the border conflict with neighboring Eritrea.

About Nobel Prizes

  • The will of the Swedish scientist Alfred Nobel established the five Nobel prizes in 1895.
  • The Nobel Prizes are a set of recognition given to fields of Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine by The Nobel Foundation.
  • The Nobel Foundation is a private institution established in 1900, has ultimate responsibility for fulfilling the intentions in Alfred Nobel’s will.
  • The prizes in Chemistry, Literature, Peace, Physics, and Physiology or Medicine were first awarded in 1901.

Who selects the Nobel Laureates?

  • In his last will and testament, Alfred Nobel specifically designated the institutions responsible for the prizes he wished to be established:
    • The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences for the Nobel Prize in Physics and Chemistry,
    • Karolinska Institutet for the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine,
    • The Swedish Academy for the Nobel Prize in Literature, and
    • A Committee of five persons to be elected by the Norwegian Parliament (Storting) for the Nobel Peace Prize.
  • In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank established the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel.
    • The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences was given the task to select the Laureates in Economic Sciences starting in 1969.
  • While the five Nobel Prizes are based on a fund set up from the wealth bequeathed by Alfred Nobel, the Economic Prize is based on a donation received by the Nobel Foundation in 1968 from Sveriges Riksbank.
SMS Alerts
Share Page