Karol Bagh | IAS GS Foundation Course | 29 May, 6 PM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates

Rapid Fire

Constitution of the Sixteenth Finance Commission

  • 01 Jan 2024
  • 1 min read

The Government of India, in adherence to Article 280(1) of the Constitution, has established the Sixteenth Finance Commission, appointing Dr. Arvind Panagariya, former Vice-Chairman of NITI Aayog and Professor at Columbia University, as its Chairman.

  • Specific terms of reference have been outlined, including the distribution of tax proceeds between the Union and States, principles governing grants-in-aid to States, and measures to bolster State funds for local bodies like Panchayats and Municipalities.
  • The Commission has also been tasked with reviewing disaster management financing arrangements under the Disaster Management Act, 2005, and making recommendations for improvements.
  • The Commission has been requested to make its report available by 31st October, 2025.

Read more: Sixteenth Finance Commission

SMS Alerts
Share Page