Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
Coastal zone report relaxes curbs on constructions
Jul 13, 2016

A high-power committee has recommended changes to laws governing infrastructure development along India’s coast, with the most significant being giving greater powers and responsibilities to coastal States to regulate development, maintain and conserve ecologically fragile zones and ensure that environment be protected without neglecting “basic requirements of growing population.

  • The new Act proposes the devolution of powers to State and Union Territory governments along with local authorities for CRZ II (built up cities and towns), CRZ III (rural areas) and CRZ IV (12 nautical miles into the sea) areas.
  • Report recommends that buildings can be constructed behind existing structures and roads in CRZ II areas as per existing town and country-planning norms.
  • CRZ III areas are divided as ‘Densely Populated Rural Areas’ and ‘Rural Areas’ with lesser regulation for the former through the reduction of the ‘no-development zone’ to 50 metres.
  • The document promotes housing infrastructure and slum redevelopment activities in CRZ II and tourism in CRZ III areas based on town and country planning norms and other State regulations.
  • It also recommends the reclamation of the sea bed in CRZ IV area for “ports and harbour, fisheries-related activities and other infrastructure required in the larger public interest such as bridges, sea-links on stilts, roads, important national installations related to coastal security, tourism


Former Secretary of the Earth Sciences Ministry ShaileshNayak chaired a six-member committee in 2014 that prepared the ‘Report of the Committee to Review the Issues relating to the Coastal Regulation Zone, 2011’ and submitted it to the Environment Ministry in January 2015.

The report was made after consultation with Maharashtra, Karnataka and Kerala and also involved representatives from relevant Union Territories.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.