Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
Consultative Committee Discussed Electronic Travel Authorization
Mar 19, 2015

The Consultative Committee of Members of Parliament attached to the Ministry of Home Affairs recently discussed the Visa Enabled by Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) and Immigration, Visa, Foreigners Registration and Tracking (IVFRT) project.

Key Points

  • The IVFRT is one of the Mission Mode Project undertaken by the Ministry of Home Affairs under the National e-Governance Plan (NeGP).

  • The scope of the project covers 178 Indian Missions abroad and 13 Foreigners Regional Registration Offices (FRROs), 674 Foreigners Registration Offices (FROs) and 83 Immigration Check Posts (ICPs) within the country.

  • As on date the project has been implemented in 155 Indian Missions abroad and 13 FRROs, 450 FROs and 81 ICPs covering 85% of the foreigners coming to India.

  • The implementation of the project in remaining 23 Indian Missions abroad, Biometrics software installation in 116 Indian Missions abroad, 224 Foreigners Registration Offices and implementation of e-gates at Airports will be completed by March, 2017.

  • It was launched in 44 countries on November 27, 2014. After the launch of TVoA enabled by ETA Scheme, on an average 1000 ETAs are being issued per day at present.

  • There had been 421.6% jump in Tourist Arrival during Dec. 2014 as compared to the previous year.

  • The Government had issued 2,700 visas during Dec. 2013 whereas the number of ETAs issued during December 2014 was 14,083.

  • Tourist Visa on Arrival (TVoA) enabled by ETA Scheme for 44 countries includes Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Micronesia, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Tongo, Laos, Luxembourg, Mauritius, Mexico, Myanmar, New Zealand, Niue, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Papua & New Guinea, Philippines, Kiribati, South Korea, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Palau, Russia, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, USA, Vietnam and Vanuatu.

  • This facility is available at 9 designated international airports of the country–Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Hyderabad, Goa, Thiruvananthapuram, Cochin, Bengaluru and Kolkata.

  • The project was allocated budget of Rs.1011 crore which was subsequently re-estimated at Rs.638.90 crores.

  • The development of all software applications by NIC resulted in higher strategy control and cost savings.

  • Biometric enrollment software has also been developed in NIC and during the reworked extension of the project, an amount of Rs.372.10 crores resulted as savings.

The members discussed various aspects of the scheme, such as safety and security of tourists, promotion of tourism and necessary advisories for important tourist places and destinations. They also suggested upgrading infrastructure facilities such as verification of hotels, updating of their records, safe transportation facilities and better connectivity at different places.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.