Karol Bagh | GS Foundation Course | 29 April, 11:30 AM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

State PCS


Chief Minister inaugurated Shri Jayanarayan Vyas Smriti Bhavan Town Hall

  • 04 Sep 2023
  • 3 min read

Why in News?

On September 3, 2023, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot inaugurated the Shri Jainarayan Vyas Smriti Bhavan Town Hall by unveiling a plaque in Jodhpur district of the state.

Key Points:

  • Speaking on the occasion, the Chief Minister said that this 60-year-old town hall, renovated at a cost of Rs 11.50 crore, would not only preserve the memories of Vyas but also provide a suitable environment for the artists to showcase their art.
  • It is known that former Chief Minister and freedom fighter Late. Jaynarayan Vyas had a deep connection with art. He never compromised on his principles in life.
  • On this occasion, the Chief Minister announced that Ravindra Manch of Jaipur will be developed as a multi-cultural centre to promote dance, drama and music art.
  • It is worth mentioning that the state government is working to preserve folk arts and encourage artists through its schemes. The state government provided financial support to the artists during the Corona period.
  • Under the 'Lok Kala Protsahan Yojana', a provision has been made to provide employment to artists, provide funds for the purchase of new musical instruments. Organizing art festivals across the state has helped the artists to earn their livelihood.
  • The state government has allocated Rs 100 crore for the 'Artist Welfare Fund'. In the previous tenure also, additional budget was allocated for artists, writers and litterateurs.
  • On the occasion, the Chief Minister released the booklet 'Constitution of India - Rajasthani Translation' and awarded the highest ratna to Bhanu Bharti of Udaipur in the senior drama direction category for the year 2023-24 of Rajasthan Sangeet Natak Akademi.
  • He has also won the classical music and music of Suman Yadav, Ravi Panwar in the classical violin, Geeta Raghuvir in the classical dance Kathak form, Bhugade Khan in folk music singing, Parveen Mirza in folk music, Dr. Roop Singh Shekhawat in folk dance, Khairatiram Bhatt in folk art puppetry, Dilip Bhatt in folk drama, Rafiq Sagar in soft music, Ashok Rahi in drama-writing. Geeta Bhattacharya was honoured in drama-acting, Sabir Khan in theatrical direction.
  • Apart from these, Radhelal in theatrical form decoration, Sharad Kumar Tailang in art samagra sadhana were awarded.
  • The Chief Minister honoured Saurabh Vashisht in classical singing, Ashish Raagwani in tabla playing, Charu Sharma in Kathak dance, Yusuf Khan Mewati in Bhapang playing, Swagat Rathore in soft music singing, Kaviraj Laik in theater.
  • Abir Tiwari in Pakhawaj playing mode, Chaitanya Sahal in classical singing, Tanishka Srivastava in Kathak dance were awarded children's awards at the ceremony.
SMS Alerts
Share Page