Karol Bagh | IAS GS Foundation Course | 29 May, 6 PM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

State PCS Current Affairs


Vishnu Deo Sai will be the 4th CM of Chhattisgarh

  • 11 Dec 2023
  • 2 min read

Why in News?

On December 10, 2023, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) elected state tribal leader and Kunkuri MLA Vishnu Deo Sai as the Chief Minister of the state. He will be the 4th Chief Minister of the state and the 1st tribal Chief Minister.

Key Points:

  • Vishnu Deo Sai was elected the leader of the legislative party in the legislative party meeting held at the BJP state office in Raipur. Along with this, he reached Raj Bhavan and presented his claim to form the government before the Governor. He will take oath as Chief Minister on December 13.
  • Vishnu Deo Sai is elected from Kunkuri assembly of Chhattisgarh. The tribal community has the highest population in the state. He comes from this community. He will be the 1st tribal Chief Minister of the state. He will be the 1st tribal Chief Minister even from BJP. However, the 1st Chief Minister of the state, Ajit Jogi, is also considered to be the 1st Chief Minister of the state to come from the tribal community, but the case related to his caste is currently pending in the court.
  • It is worth mentioning that Vishnu Deo Sai has been MP four times, MLA twice, Union Minister of State and BJP State President twice.
  • He started his political journey in 1989. At first he served as a village Panch. Bharatiya Janata Party gave him MLA ticket from Tapkara assembly constituency in the year 1990, in which he won. After this, he was elected MP from Raigarh Lok Sabha constituency for three consecutive times from 1999 to 2014.

SMS Alerts
Share Page