Karol Bagh | IAS GS Foundation Course | 29 May, 6 PM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

State PCS Current Affairs

Madhya Pradesh

Ministry of Minority Affairs Approves Projects Under PMJVK Scheme

  • 16 Mar 2024
  • 3 min read

Why in News?

Recently, the Ministry of Minority Affairs has approved projects under Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK) Scheme for ‘Establishment of Centre for Jain Studies in Devi Ahilya Vishwavidyalaya (DAVV), Indore Campus with the total estimated cost of Rs. 25 crore.

Key Points

  • These projects were approved for strengthening infrastructural development pertaining to development of Jain philosophy, fostering academic collaboration, promoting interdisciplinary research, preservation of language via digitisation of manuscripts, community outreach via hubs establishment.
  • The project by the university will be undertaken for preservation and promotion of Jain Heritage, enhancing global understanding of Jainism and its principles and practices and developing a support for community engagement.

Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK Scheme)

  • The Central Government renamed and restructured the Multi-sectoral Development Programme (MsDP) as Pradhan Mantri Jan Vikas Karyakram (PMJVK).
  • The programme aims to develop socio-economic and basic amenities assets like school, college, polytechnic, girls hostel, ITI, skill development centre etc for the minority communities.


  • It came to prominence in the 6th century BC, when Lord Mahavira propagated the religion.
  • There were 24 great teachers, the last of whom was Lord Mahavira.
  • These twenty-four teachers were called Tirthankaras-people who had attained all knowledge (Moksha) while living and preached it to the people.
  • The first Tirthankara was Rishabnatha.

Jain Literature

  • Jain literature is classified into two major categories:
    • Agam Literature: Lord Mahavir's preaching was methodically compiled by his followers into many texts. These texts are collectively known as Agams, the sacred books of the Jain religion. Agam literature is also divided into two groups: Ang-agama and Ang-bahya-agams.
    • Non-agam Literature: This consists of commentary and explanation of Agam literature and independent works, compiled by elder monks, nuns, and scholars.
      • They are written in many languages such as Prakrit, Sanskrit, Old Marathi, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannad, Tamil, German, and English.
SMS Alerts
Share Page