Karol Bagh | GS Foundation Course | 29 April, 11:30 AM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

State PCS Current Affairs


Late Former Bihar CM Karpoori Thakur to be Awarded Bharat Ratna

  • 25 Jan 2024
  • 2 min read

Why in News?

Late former Bihar Chief Minister Karpoori Thakur will be posthumously awarded the Bharat Ratna, India's highest civilian honour.

Key Points

  • This prestigious recognition is a testament to Karpoori Thakur’s enduring efforts as a champion for the marginalised and a loyal, reliable, and hard-working supporter of equality and empowerment.
  • His unwavering commitment to uplift the downtrodden and visionary leadership have left an indelible mark on India's socio-political fabric.
    • This award not only honours his remarkable contributions but also inspires the society to continue his mission of creating a more just and equitable society.

Karpoori Thakur

  • He served as the Chief Minister of Bihar twice, and was known for championing the cause of the backward classes.
  • His tenure as Chief Minister was marked by various pro-poor initiatives, including the implementation of land reforms and policies aimed at empowering the underprivileged.
  • Popularly known as Jan Nayak (people's hero), he was widely respected for his integrity and dedication to the welfare of the common people.
  • He was associated with multiple political parties throughout his career.
  • He began his political journey with the Praja Socialist Party and later aligned himself with the Janata Party during his first term as the chief minister of Bihar from 1977 to 1979. Subsequently, he became affiliated with the Janata Dal.
  • He passed away in February 1988.

Bharat Ratna

  • It is the highest civilian award of the country. It is awarded in recognition of exceptional service/performance of the highest order in any field of human endeavour.
  • It is treated on a different footing from Padma Award. The recommendations for Bharat Ratna are made by the Prime Minister to the President of India.
  • The number of Bharat Ratna Awards is restricted to a maximum of three in a particular year.
SMS Alerts
Share Page