Karol Bagh | GS Foundation Course | 29 April, 11:30 AM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

State PCS Current Affairs


CM Announces Two New Awards on the Occasion of Gandhi Jayanti

  • 03 Oct 2022
  • 2 min read

Why In News?

  • On October 2, 2022, on the occasion of Gandhi Jayanti, Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel announced the award of awards in the name of the country's eminent theater artist, playwright and director Late Habib Tanveer and litterateur and environmentalist Late Anupam Mishra.

Key Points

  • Chief Minister Mr. Bhupesh Baghel announced this award in the name of both the personalities at a program organized on Gandhi, Youth and Challenges of New India at Shaheed Smarak Bhawan in Raipur.
  • Late Habib Tanvir was born on September 1, 1923 in Raipur. After getting education, he moved to Mumbai in 1945 and started a job in All India Radio as a producer. While there, he wrote songs for Hindi films. He also acted in a few films. Composed many plays.
  • Habib Tanveer received many awards and the Pt Vibhushan Samman in the year 2002. He was also a Rajya Sabha MP from 1972 to 1978. His play Charandas Chor was the first Indian play to be awarded at the Edinburgh International Drama Festival (1982). His major works include Agra Bazaar (1954), Charandas Chor (1975).
  • Renowned writer, editor, cinematographer and Gandhian environmentalist late Anupam Mishra was born in Wardha, Maharashtra to Sarla Mishra and famous Hindi poet Bhawani Prasad Mishra in 1948.
  • He did his post-graduation in Sanskrit from Delhi University in 1969 and after that he joined The Gandhi Peace Foundation in Delhi. He was working for the environment since then no department of environment was opened in the country. With his efforts, the work of water conservation started in drought-hit Alwar, which was seen and appreciated by the world.
  • He was awarded the Chandrashekhar Azad National Award by the Government of Madhya Pradesh in the year 2007-2008. In the year 2011, he was awarded the country's prestigious Jamnalal Bajaj Award. In the year 1996, he was also honored with the Indira Gandhi Environment Award.
SMS Alerts
Share Page
× Snow