Karol Bagh | IAS GS Foundation Course | 29 May, 6 PM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

State PCS Current Affairs


Char Dham Yatra

  • 16 May 2024
  • 2 min read

Why in News?

Recently, the alarming scenes of a massive turnout at Yamunotri and long traffic blockades on the Kedarnath and Badrinath routes have forced the government to prioritize short-term and long-term solutions for the Char Dham yatra.

Key Points

  • The Char-Dham yatra in Uttarakhand consists of visiting four temples, Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri, and Yamunotri.
  • It holds profound spiritual significance in Hinduism. This journey typically occurs from April/May to October/November.
  • The state is planning to create a "Dharmik Yatra Authority" that would regulate not only Char Dham yatra but also other pilgrimages like the Kanwar yatra.
  • The authority will take a call on all issues, like deciding the number of daily pilgrims, routes, health, and security deployments, and all other arrangements.
  • Uttarakhand is considering adopting the regulatory body for religious events similar to the one in Uttar Pradesh and will study its model before implementation.

Char Dham Yatra

  • Yamunotri Dham:
    • Location: Uttarkashi district.
    • Dedicated to: Goddess Yamuna.
    • River Yamuna is the second-most sacred river in India after River Ganga.
  • Gangotri Dham:
    • Location: Uttarkashi district.
    • Dedicated to: Goddess Ganga.
    • Considered the most sacred of all Indian rivers.
  • Kedarnath Dham:
    • Location: Rudraprayag district.
    • Dedicated to: Lord Shiva.
    • Situated on the bank of the Mandakini River.
    • One of the 12 Jyotirlingas (divine representations of Lord Shiva) in India.
  • Badrinath Dham:
    • Location: Chamoli district.
    • Home to the sacred Badrinarayan Temple.
    • Dedicated to: Lord Vishnu.
    • One of the holy shrines for Vaishnavites.
SMS Alerts
Share Page