Karol Bagh | GS Foundation Course | 29 April, 11:30 AM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

State PCS Current Affairs


Champion of Change Haryana-2021 Award

  • 06 Oct 2022
  • 4 min read

Why In News?

  • According to the information given by the Haryana Public Relations Department on October 5, 2022, Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar has been awarded the 'Champion of Change Haryana-2021' award in the 'Champion of Change Haryana-2021' program organized in Chandigarh.

Key Points

  • Former Chief Justice of Supreme Court and former Chairman of Human Rights Commission Justice K.G. The award has been presented to Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar on the recommendation of the selection committee headed by Balakrishnan. Manohar Lal is the first Chief Minister of Haryana, who has got this distinction.
  • Chief Minister Manohar Lal has been honored with the Champion of Change Haryana-2021 award for his efforts to change the picture of Haryana's functioning and administrative efficiency through good governance in the last eight years.
  • The Gandhi-Mandela Foundation, formed in the name of the Father of the Nation Mahatma Gandhi and former President of South Africa, late Nelson Mandela, known as the world's biggest change motivator, and the Interactive Forum on Indian Economy, a national and state level awarding organization for change Lal was awarded
  • It is to be noted that the Interactive Forum on Indian Economy is also going to organize the 'Global Champion of Change' program in Washington DC, USA at the international level by next year .
  • It is noteworthy that this was the 5th edition of the organization, in which 25 other personalities, including the Chief Minister, were honored with the Champion of Change Haryana-2021 award, who became an inspiration for change in various fields.
  • The first edition was held on 26 December 2018 at Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi in which the award was presented by the then Vice President Venkaiah Naidu to Manipur Chief Minister N. Biren Singh was given Similarly, in the second edition, Jharkhand Chief Minister Hemant Soren, Delhi Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia and Union Minister Anurag Thakur; In the third edition, Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant, Union Minister of State Shripad Naik and Tamil Nadu Chief Minister M.K. Stalin was honored in the fourth edition on September 30, 2021, to former Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Home Minister Dilip Walse Patil.
  • As part of its process, the selection committee invites applications for the award based on feedback from the people over a period of six months and then the members of the selection committee assess the applications and send the selected names to the institutes.
  • The members of the selection committee for the Gandhi-Mandela Award include former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court and former Chairman of the Human Rights Commission Justice Dr. K. G. Balakrishnan, former Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Dipak Misra, former Chief Justice of Nepal Justice Kedarnath Upadhyay, former Chief Justice of Bangladesh Justice Mohammad Tafazzul Islam and former Supreme Court of India Judge Justice Gyan Sudha Mishra.
SMS Alerts
Share Page