Karol Bagh | IAS GS Foundation Course | 29 May, 6 PM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

State PCS Current Affairs


Bhiwadi To Delhi-Mumbai Expressway

  • 22 Apr 2024
  • 3 min read

Why in News?

Recently, realtors body Confederation of Real Estate Developers Associations of India (CREDAI) has urged the Rajasthan Government to facilitate the linkage of Bhiwadi, an emerging industrial and residential hub, to the Delhi-Mumbai Expressway.

Key Points

  • CREDAI NCR Bhiwadi Neemrana requested this to not only stimulate economic growth but also facilitate smoother movement of goods and people, thereby fostering regional development and prosperity.
    • It is one of the Chapters of CREDAI NCR representing developers of Bhiwadi, Dharuhera, and Neemrana.
  • They also suggested exploring the possibility of developing a road along the Dedicated Freight Corridor (DFC) with an interchange at the Delhi-Mumbai Expressway.

Confederation of Real Estate Developers Associations of India (CREDAI)

  • CREDAI is the apex organisation representing more than 11,940 real estate developers spread across 23 states and 170 city chapters.
  • Since its inception in the year 1999, CREDAI has worked consistently to improve the standards of fairness, transparency and ethical behavior in the real estate sector.

Dedicated Freight Corridor (DFC)

  • It is a high speed and high capacity railway corridor that is exclusively meant for the transportation of freight, or in other words, goods and commodities.
  • DFC involves the seamless integration of better infrastructure and state of the art technology.
  • DFC consists of two arms:
    • Eastern Dedicated Freight Corridor (EDFC):
      • It starts at Sahnewal (Ludhiana) in Punjab and ends at Dankuni in West Bengal.
      • The EDFC route has coal mines, thermal power plants and industrial cities. Feeder routes are also being made for these.
      • The EDFC route covers Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand and West Bengal
      • The World Bank is funding a majority of the EDFC.
      • The 351-km-long ‘New Bhaupur-New Khurja section’ will decongest the existing Kanpur-Delhi main line and double the speed of freight trains from 25 kmph to 75 kmph.
    • Western Dedicated Freight Corridor (WDFC):
      • The other arm is the around 1,500-km WDFC from Dadri in Uttar Pradesh to Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust in Mumbai, touching all major ports along the way.
      • The WDFC covers Haryana, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh.
      • It is being funded by the Japan International Cooperation Agency.
SMS Alerts
Share Page