Online Courses (English)
This just in:

Daily Updates


Dwarf Planet Ceres

  • 13 Aug 2020
  • 3 min read

Why in News

As per the data collected by NASA’s Dawn spacecraft, dwarf planet Ceres reportedly has salty water underground.

  • Dawn (2007-18) was a mission to the two most massive bodies in the main asteroid belt - Vesta and Ceres.

Key Points

  • Latest Findings:
    • The scientists have given Ceres the status of an “ocean world” as it has a big reservoir of salty water underneath its frigid surface.
      • This has led to an increased interest of scientists that the dwarf planet was maybe habitable or has the potential to be.
      • Ocean Worlds is a term for ‘Water in the Solar System and Beyond’.
    • The salty water originated in a brine reservoir spread hundreds of miles and about 40 km beneath the surface of the Ceres.
    • Further, there is an evidence that Ceres remains geologically active with cryovolcanism - volcanoes oozing icy material.
      • Instead of molten rock, cryovolcanoes or salty-mud volcanoes release frigid, salty water sometimes mixed with mud.
  • Subsurface Oceans on other Celestial Bodies: Jupiter’s moon Europa, Saturn’s moon Enceladus, Neptune’s moon Triton, and the dwarf planet Pluto.
    • This provides scientists a means to understand the history of the solar system.
  • Ceres:
    • It is the largest object in the asteroid belt between Mars and Jupiter.
      • It was the first member of the asteroid belt to be discovered when Giuseppe Piazzi spotted it in 1801.
    • It is the only dwarf planet located in the inner solar system (includes planets Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars).
      • Scientists classified it as a dwarf planet in 2006.
    • It has a diameter of about 950 km, which is more than one-fourth of Earth’s moon.
      • It takes 1,682 Earth days, or 4.6 Earth years, to make one trip around the sun.
      • It completes one rotation around its axis every 9 hours.
    • It does not have any moon or rings.
    • It has a 92 km wide crater named Occator located in its northern hemisphere.

Dwarf Planets

  • According to the International Astronomical Union (IAU), which sets definitions for planetary science, a dwarf planet is a celestial body that - orbits the sun, has enough mass to assume a nearly round shape, has not cleared the neighborhood around its orbit and is not a moon.
  • The first five recognised dwarf planets are Ceres, Pluto, Eris, Makemake and Haumea.

Source: IE

SMS Alerts

Please login or register to view note list


Please login or register to list article as bookmarked


Please login or register to make your note


Please login or register to list article as progressed


Please login or register to list article as bookmarked