Karol Bagh | IAS GS Foundation Course | 29 May, 6 PM Call Us
This just in:

State PCS

Daily Updates

Indian Heritage & Culture

Draft National List of Intangible Cultural Heritage

  • 20 Apr 2020
  • 3 min read

Why in News

The Ministry of Culture has launched the draft National List of Intangible Cultural Heritage (ICH) of India .

Key Points

  • The National ICH List is an attempt to recognize the diversity of Indian culture embedded in its intangible heritage.
  • It aims to raise awareness about the various intangible cultural heritage elements from different states of India at national and international level and ensure their protection.
  • This initiative is also a part of the Vision 2024 of the Ministry of Culture.
  • The list has more than 100 elements which also include 13 elements recognized by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) as Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity.
  • Following UNESCO’s 2003 Convention for Safeguarding of Intangible Cultural Heritage, this list has been classified into five broad domains in which intangible cultural heritage is manifested.
    • The 2003 Convention is a part of the Convention Concerning the Protection of World Cultural and Natural Heritage which was adopted by the General Conference of UNESCO in 1972 in order to promote the identification, protection and safeguarding of natural cultural heritage.
  • The five domains are:
    • Oral traditions and expressions, including language as a vehicle of the intangible cultural heritage.
    • Performing arts.
    • Social practices, rituals and festive events.
    • Knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe.
    • Traditional craftsmanship.
  • Kerala’s martial art form, Kalaripayuttu, and the practice of making designs at the entrance of homes and temples called kolam in Kerala, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and Andhra Pradesh are included in the draft list.
  • The present items in the list have been collated from the projects sanctioned under the scheme for ‘Safeguarding the Intangible Cultural Heritage and Diverse Cultural Traditions of India’ formulated by the Ministry of Culture in 2013.

Scheme for Safeguarding the Intangible Heritage and Diverse Cultural Traditions of India

  • The scheme was set up under the Ministry of Culture (MoC) during 2013-14.
  • The objective of the Scheme is to support and strengthen the efforts of various stakeholders vis-a-vis wider recognition and acceptance, dissemination, preservation and promotion of the rich, diverse and vast ICH of India including recognition of the same by UNESCO.
  • The Scheme aims to support
    • Institutions/ Universities/ State Govts/ UT Administrations/ non-MoC Institutions/ Societies/ Non-government organisations, involved in the preservation and propagation of intangible cultural heritage, cultural expressions etc.
    • Individuals, researchers, scholars, professionals who are involved in the research, training, preservation, perpetuation, dissemination, and propagation of intangible cultural heritage, cultural expressions etc.

Source: PIB

SMS Alerts
Share Page