Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
Wild Thai tiger cubs
Apr 03, 2017

In news:

The discovery of a new breeding population of tigers in Thailand as a “miraculous” victory for a sub-species nearly wiped out by poaching.

  • Images of some tigers including six cubs, captured by camera traps in an eastern Thai jungle throughout 2016, confirm the presence of what is only the world’s second known breeding population of the endangered Indochinese tiger.
  • The images confirm the presence of  world’s second known breeding population of the endangered Indochinese tiger.

Indo Chinese tiger

  • Indochinese tigers, which are generally smaller than their Bengal and Siberian counterparts, once roamed across much of Asia.
  • But today only an estimated 221 remain, with the vast majority in Thailand and a handful in neighbouring Myanmar.


  • Aggressive poaching, weak law enforcement and habitat loss has rendered the animals all but extinct in southern China, Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam.
  • Tiger farms around the region have also boosted the trafficking trade by propping up demand for tiger parts, which are treasured as talismans and used in traditional medicines popular in China.


Red List of Threatened Species provides taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on plants and animals that have been globally evaluated using the IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria. This system is designed to determine the relative risk of extinction, and the main purpose of the IUCN Red List is to catalogue and highlight those plants and animals that are facing a higher risk of global extinction (i.e. those listed as Critically Endangered, Endangered and Vulnerable). The IUCN Red List also includes information on plants and animals that are categorized as Extinct or Extinct in the Wild;on taxon (plural of taxon) that cannot be evaluated because of insufficient information (i.e., are Data Deficient); and on plants and animals that are either close to meeting the threatened thresholds or that would be threatened, were it not
for an ongoing taxon-specific conservation programme (i.e., are Near Threatened).


Species are classified by the IUCN Red List into nine groups:

  • Extinct (EX)-No known individuals remaining.
  • Extinct in the Wild (EW)-Known only to survive in captivity, or as a naturalized population outside its historic range.
  • Critically Endangered (CR)-Extremely high risk of extinction in the wild.
  • Endangered (EN)-High risk of extinction in the wild.
  • Vulnerable (VU)-High risk of endangerment in the wild.
  • Near Threatened (NT)-Likely to become endangered in the near future.
  • Least Concern (LC)-Lowest risk. Does not qualify for a more at risk category. Widespread and abundant taxa are included in this category.
  • Data Deficient (DD)-Not enough data to make an assessment of its risk of extinction.
  • Not Evaluated (NE)-Has not yet been evaluated against the criteria. 

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.