Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
सेमिनार: अंग्रेज़ी सीखने का अवसर (23 सितंबर: दोपहर 3 बजे)
Formation of State
Dec 24, 2013

During the reign of the Britishers, India was divided into near about some 600 princely states and provinces. When India got Independence by the Indian Independence Act, 1947, these states were given the option of either joining India or Pakistan. The State Reorganization Act was passed in 1956 to brought to an end the differences between the Part A, B and C states and created 14 states and some union territories. The Constitution of India recognized three types of States, which were; first; “Part A” States, these states were those states which had a Governor as their executive head before Independence i.e. during the British reign, these type of states included states like Bombay, Madras, and U.P. etc. The second category of states were known as “Part B” States, these were the states which were previously known as the Princely Provinces, these type of states included Hyderabad, Mysore and Rajasthan etc. And the last category was of the “Part C” states comprising a mixture of states which in the past had either been a Princely State or a state being governed by a Chief Commissioner.

The history of formation of states is as follows:

1. Andhra Pradesh was created On 1 November 1956 by the States Reorganization Act  by merging Telugu-speaking areas of Hyderabad State (Telangana) and the already existing Andhra State.

2. The State of Bombay was divided into two States i.e. Maharashtra and Gujarat by the Bombay (Reorganization) Act 1960. The first capital of Gujarat was Ahmedabad; the capital was moved to Gandhinagar in 1970.

3. The Marathi-speaking areas of Bombay state, Deccan states and Vidarbha (which was part of Central Provinces and Berar) united under the agreement, known as Nagpur Pact, to form the Maharashtra state.

4. Kerala was created by the State Reorganization Act, 1956. It comprised of Travancore and Cochin.

5. Karnataka was created on 1 November 1956. Originally known as the State of Mysore, it was renamed Karnataka in 1973.

6. Punjab was divided along linguistic lines in 1966; the Hindi-speaking southern half of Punjab became a separate state-“Haryana” and Pahari speaking hilly areas in north east formed “Himachal Pradesh”. The rest remained as Punjab. Chandigarh was on the border of Punjab and haryana and became a separate union territory but serves as the capital of both Punjab and Haryana.

7. Meghalaya was first carved out as a sub-State within the State of Assam by 23rd Constitutional Amendment Act, 1969. Later in 1971, it received the status of a full-fledged State by the North-Eastern Areas (Reorganization) Act 1971.

8. Sikkim was first given the Status of Associate State by the 35th Constitutional Amendment Act 1974. It got the status of a full State in 1975 by the 36th Amendment Act, 1975.

9. Goa was separated from the Union-Territory of Goa, Daman and Diu and was made a full-fledged state in 1987. But Daman and Diu remained as Union Territory.

10. Chhattisgarh, Uttarakhand and Jharkhand formed as full fledge states by the Constitutional Amendment Act, 2000.



Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.