Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
e-Visa Facility for 43 Countries
Nov 28, 2014

In a move that is expected to ease visa processing and help increase of tourist inflow to India, the government on 27 November rolled out the much-awaited electronic-visa system for visitors from 43 countries, including the U.S., Australia, Brazil, Germany, Japan and Russia.

All arrangements, including the software for the system, are now ready and would become operational at nine international airports—Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Kochi, Thiruvananthapuram and Goa.

In order to get an e-visa, one would need to apply on the designated website along with the required fees. They would be granted an electronic version of the visa within 96 hours.

As per the government decision, all countries, except a few in the prior list, would be brought into the e-visa regime over the next two years. Barring a few like Pakistan, Sudan, Afghanistan, Iran, Iraq, Nigeria, Sri Lanka and Somalia, all the countries will be covered under the e-visa regime in phases.

The e-visa is expected to give a big boost to foreign tourist arrivals in the country. About 51.79 lakh foreign tourists visited India during January-September.

13 countries currently enjoy the visa-on-arrival facility, including South Korea, Japan, Finland, Singapore, New Zealand, Indonesia, Myanmar, Vietnam and Laos.

Once implemented e-visa will allow foreign travellers to apply for a visa and receive an online confirmation within three to five working days. e-visa will be available for a 30 day period from the date of the tourist's arrival in India. The government plans to establish a separate website to extend the facility to foreigners intending to visit India as tourists.

This is the first time that electronic visas will be implemented in the country. The countries are Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Federated States of Micronesia, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kingdom of Tongo, Laos, Luxembourg, Mauritius, Mexico, Myanmar, New Zealand, Niue, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Papua & New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Kiribati, Republic of Korea (i.e. South Korea), Republic of Marshall Islands, Republic of Nauru, Republic of Palau, Russia, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, USA, Vietnam and Vanuatu.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.