Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
Visit India Year in China: e-Tourist Visa Facility for China, Hong Kong & Macau
Aug 03, 2015

The Government has extended e-Tourist Visa facility to the passport holders of China, Hong Kong Administrative Region and Macau Special Administrative Region with effect from the July 30, 2015.

Key Points

  • The total number of countries/territories covered under the e-Tourist Visa scheme will go up from 74 to 77, with the inclusion of these countries/territories. 

  • The 74 countries already included are: Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Cayman Island, Chile, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Grenada, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Myanmar, Nauru, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Republic of Macedonia, Russia, Saint Christopher and Nevis, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, UAE, Ukraine, USA, Vanuatu, Vatican City-Holy See and Vietnam. 

  • The e-Tourist Visa scheme launched by the Government of India on the November 27, 2014 will be extended to more countries/territories in a phased manner. 

  • Under this scheme, tourists with e-Tourist Visas can arrive at nine designated airports (Bengaluru, Chennai, Cochin, Delhi, Goa, Hyderabad, Kolkata, and Mumbai & Trivandrum).

  • Since the launch of the scheme, about Two lakh e-TVs have been issued to nationals of different countries. 

  • During the last three years, a total of 1,79,873 tourist visas have been issued to nationals of China, Hong Kong and Macau. 

  • It is expected that extending the e-Tourist Visa facility to China, Hong Kong and Macau will boost the tourist arrival from these regions and strengthen bilateral ties among people of these territories.

Visit India Year in China: The year 2015 is being observed as the Visit India Year in China. Various promotional activities are being organized to showcase and promote the varied tourism destinations and products of India in China, with the objective of increasing foreign tourist arrivals from China to India. These include advertising in the local print and outdoor media, participation in travel fairs and exhibitions; organizing Know India seminars & workshops for Chinese Tour Operators in different cities; publication of brochures; joint advertising and joint promotion with tourism stakeholders, airlines etc. and inviting media personalities, tour operators, opinion makers etc. to visit the country under the Hospitality Scheme of the Ministry.

Ministry of Tourism organised a Chinese Tourist Facilitator Programme in 2014 for the executives and tour managers of tour operators handling Chinese tourists. The participants were nominated by Indian Association of Tour Operators. A total of 118 Chinese tourist facilitators were trained through this programme.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.