Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
Ramon Magsaysay Awards 2015
Jul 30, 2015

The Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation (RMAF) announced this year five individuals from India, Laos, Myanmar, and the Philippines to receive Asia's premier prize, the Ramon Magsaysay Award. 

Magsaysay Awardees for 2015

1. Anshu Gupta, from India. He is being recognized for his creative vision in transforming the culture of giving in India, his enterprising leadership in treating cloth as a sustainable development resource for the poor, and in reminding the world that true giving always respects and preserves human dignity. 

2. Sanjiv Chaturvedi, for emergent leadership, from India. He is being recognized for his exemplary integrity, courage and tenacity in uncompromisingly exposing and painstakingly investigating corruption in public office, and his resolute crafting of program and system improvements to ensure that government honorably serves the people of India.

3. Kommaly Chanthavong, from Laos. She is being recognized for her fearless, indomitable spirit to revive and develop the ancient Laotian art of silk weaving, creating livelihoods for thousands of poor, war-displaced Laotians, and thus preserving the dignity of women and her nation's priceless silken cultural treasure. 

4. Ligaya Fernando-Amilbangsa, from the Philippines. She is being recognized for her single-minded crusade in preserving the endangered artistic heritage of southern Philippines, and in creatively propagating a dance form that celebrates and deepens the sense of shared cultural identity among Asians. 

5. Kyaw Thu, from Myanmar. He is being recognized for his generous compassion in addressing the fundamental needs of both the living and the dead in Myanmar—regardless of their class or religion—and his channeling personal fame and privilege to mobilize many others toward serving the greater social good.

These five 2015 Magsaysay awardees join the community of 307 other Magsaysay laureates who have received Asia's highest honour to date. This year's Magsaysay Award winners will each receive a certificate, a medallion bearing the likeness of the late President, and a cash prize. They will be formally conferred the Magsaysay Award during formal Presentation Ceremonies to be held on 31 August 2015 at the Cultural Center of the Philippines.

Established in 1957, the Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia's highest honour and is widely regarded as the region's equivalent of the Nobel Prize. It celebrates the memory and leadership example of the third Philippine president after whom the award is named, and is given every year to individuals or organizations in Asia who manifest the same selfless service and transformative influence that ruled the life of the late and beloved Filipino leader. 

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.