Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
New criteria for selection of Arjuna Award revealed
Jan 04, 2014

Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports has revealed the criteria for giving Arjuna Award to the sportspersons for the year 2014 onwards.

The new criteria is as follows:

The Ministry has formulated a points-based system under which 90 per cent weightage will be given to sportspersons who have won medals in various international events in disciplines belonging to the Olympic Games (summer, winter and paralympics), Asian Games and Commonwealth Games.

Points to be awarded for performances during the past four years will be calculated as per the following format: World Championship/World Cup [once in four years] (gold: 40 points, silver: 30, bronze: 20); Asian Games (30, 25, 20); Commonwealth Games, World Championship/World Cup [biennial/annual] (25, 20, 15); Asian championship, Commonwealth championship (15, 10, 7).

Equivalence of any other sports discipline/tournament, not listed above, will be decided by the Selection Committee with reference to above-mentioned six categories of sports tournaments and the points will be allotted accordingly.

90 marks will be given to the sportsperson getting maximum points as computed in the table above. Rest of the sportspersons will be given marks proportionately to the said sportsperson. For example, if a sportsperson `A` has got highest points say 45 points as per the table above and another sportsperson `B` has got 40 points as per the table above, then `A` will get 90 marks and `B` will get ( 90 x 40 /45 ) = 80 marks.

10 % weightage will be given to the marks given by the Selection Committee for assessment of the eligible sportsperson keeping in view factors like profile and standard of the sports events in which he or she has won medals and qualities like leadership, sportsmanship, team sprit, fair play, sense of discipline.

Winners of medals in Olympics and Paralympics will automatically be considered for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna or Arjuna Awards, depending on the type of medal won, if they have already not been conferred with either of the two Awards.

For cricket and indigenous games, not  included in Olympic / Asian Games / Commonwealth Games disciplines, the Selection Committee will recommend the number of awards, (not exceeding two), to be given for Cricket/Indigenous Games and recommend the sportspersons taking into consideration their individuals performances and qualities of sportsman spirit, leadership, sense of discipline etc.

Normally not more than 15 awards could be given in any calendar year. However, keeping in view the performance of Indian sportspersons in the Commonwealth, Asian Games and Olympic Games during a particular year and for the reasons given in para 7 above, Selection Committee may recommend more than 15 sportspersons for Arjuna Award.

Selection Committee will recommend the final list of sportspersons for Arjuna Awards as per the marks obtained in terms of the criteria indicated above.  The recommendations of Selection Committee will be placed before the Union Minister of Youth Affairs & Sports for the final decision.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.