Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
National Sports Awards-2014
Aug 25, 2014

National Sports Awards are given every year to recognize and reward excellence in sports.  Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award is given for the spectacular and most outstanding performance in the field of sports by a sportsperson over a period of four years immediately preceding the year during which award is to be given; Arjuna Award is given for consistently outstanding performance for four years preceding the year of award; Dronacharya Award for coaches for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events, Dhyan Chand Award for life time contribution to sports development and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar  is given to the corporate entities (both in private and public sector) and individuals who have played a visible role in the area of sports promotion and development.

A large number of nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the select  panels of eminent sportspersons and sports administrators; Selection Committees were headed by eminent sportspersons  and consisted of former  Olympians, Arjuna Awardees, Dronacharya Awardees, Dhyan Chand Awardees, Sports Journalists/Experts/Commentators and sports administrators. Selection Committee for Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjuna Awards was headed by Kapil Dev.  Selection Committee for Dronacharya Awards was headed by Ajitpal Singh. Selection Committee for Dhyan Chand Awards and Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar was headed by Ajit Mohan Saran, Secretary (Sports). 

Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, the Government has approved to confer awards upon the following sportspersons/ coaches/organizations:

Arjuna Awards: Abhishek Verma, Archery; Ms. Tintu Luka, Athletics; H.N. Girisha, Para-Athletics; V. Diju, Badminton; Ms. Geetu Anna Jose, Basketball; Jai Bhagwan, Boxing; R. Ashwin, Cricket; Anirban Lahiri, Golf; Ms. Mamta Pujari, Kabaddi; Saji Thomas, Rowing; Heena Sidhu, Shooting; Ms. Anaka Alankamony, Squash; Tom Joseph, Volleyball; Ms. Renu Bala Chanu, Weightlifting; Sunil Kumar Rana, Wrestling.

Dronacharya Awards: Mahabir Prasad, Wrestling; N. Lingappa, Athletics–Lifetime; G. Manoharan, Boxing–Lifetime; Gurcharan Singh Gogi, Judo–Lifetime; Jose Jacob, Rowing– Lifetime

Dhyan Chand Awards: Gurmail Singh, Hockey; K.P. Thakkar, Swimming (Diving); Zeeshan Ali, Tennis.

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puruskar: Employment of sports persons and sports welfare measures: Oil and Natural Gas Corporation Limited (ONGC); Community Sports-identification and nurturing of budding /young talent: Jindal Steel Works; Establishment and Management of sports academies of excellence, Guru Hanuman Akhara, Delhi; Other forms of sports activities not covered in the four categories mentioned in the schemes: Child Link Foundation of India (Magic Bus)

For Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna, no sportsperson has been recommended.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.