Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
Justice B.S. Chauhan Appointed Chairperson of 21st Law Commission
Mar 15, 2016

After a delay of more than six months, the government has appointed ex-judge of Supreme Court Balbir Singh (B.S.) Chauhan as the chairperson of the 21st Law Commission. The post has been lying vacant since last September when the commission was constituted.

  • At present, Justice Chauhan is heading the Cauvery River Water Disputes Tribunal.

  • He was a judge of the Supreme Court from May 2009 to July 2014.

Justice Ravi R. Tripathi, a former judge of the Gujarat High Court is also appointed as the member of the commission.

  • One of the key issues before the law panel is a call on amending the Indian Penal Code amid allegations of abuse and arbitrary use of the law.

  • The time period for 21st Law Commission of India is of three years w.e.f. 1st September. 2015 to 31st August, 2018.

Terms of Reference: The terms of reference include examining and suggesting laws for the poor, improving quality of administering justice, suggesting laws which could implement the directive principles of state policy and the preamble, recommending amendments to existing laws to bring gender equality and repealing obsolete laws.

The 21st Law Commission will consist of:

  • A full-time Chairperson

  • 4 full-time Members (including a Member-Secretary)

  • Secretary, Department of Legal Affairs as ex officio Member

  • Secretary, Legislative Department as ex offcio Member

  • Not more than five part-time Members

The Law Commission shall, on a reference made to it by the Central Government or suo-motu, undertake research in law and review of existing laws in India for making reforms therein and enacting new legislations. It shall also undertake studies and research for bringing reforms in the justice delivery systems for elimination of delay in procedures, speedy disposal of cases, reduction in cost of litigation etc.

Other functions of the Law Commission

  • Identification of laws which are no longer relevant and recommending for the repeal of obsolete and unnecessary enactments.

  • Suggesting enactment of new legislations as may be necessary to implement the Directive Principles and to attain the objectives set out in the Preamble of the Constitution.

  • Considering and conveying to the Government its views on any subject relating to law and judicial administration that may be specifically referred to it by the Government through Ministry of Law and Justice (Department of Legal Affairs).

  • Considering the requests for providing research to any foreign countries as may be referred to it by the Government through Ministry of Law & Justice (Department of Legal Affairs).

  • Preparing and submitting to the Central Government, from time to time, reports on all issues, matters, studies and research undertaken by it and recommending in such reports for effective measures to be taken by the Union or any State.

  • Performing such other functions as may be assigned to it by the Central Government from time to time.

  • Before concretizing its recommendations, the Commission will consult the nodal Ministry/Departments and such, other stakeholders as the Commission may deem necessary for the purpose.


  • The Law Commission of India is a non-statutory body re-constituted every three years.

  • The tenure of the 20th Law Commission was up to 31st August, 2015.

  • The various Law Commissions have been able to make important contribution towards the progressive development and codification of laws of the country.

  • Law Commissions have so far submitted 262 reports.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.