Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
सेमिनार: अंग्रेज़ी सीखने का अवसर (23 सितंबर: दोपहर 3 बजे)
Four New Governors Announced
Aug 22, 2016

Assam, Manipur and Punjab are going to see a change of governors for the second time since the Narendra Modi government took over the rein at the Centre in 2014.

  • Senior RSS leader and Nagaland Governor P.B. Acharya, who had been holding the additional charge of Assam since December 2014, will now be replaced by Banwarilal Purohit. He is a three-time member of parliament from Nagpur—twice on Congress tickets and once as a BJP member. He left the Congress to contest Lok Sabha elections for the BJP in 1991 when the party launched a movement to construct the Ram temple in Ayodhya.
  • The gubernatorial post in Manipur was held by Meghalaya Governor V. Shanmuganathan since September 2015. The post has been given to senior BJP leader Najma Heptullah. She resigned from the Union Cabinet last month after crossing the age of 75, an unofficial cutoff age set by the party for ministerial posts.
  • Similarly, the Haryana Governor since July 2014, Kaptan Singh Solanki, who was also sworn in as the Punjab governor in January 2015, will be replaced by, V.P. Singh Badnore, a BJP leader from Rajasthan.
  • Another governor who was replaced is Andaman and Nicobar Islands Lieutenant Governor A.K. Singh, who will pass on the baton to BJP leader and former Delhi government finance minister Jagdish Mukhi. A.K. Singh was one of the last few governors appointed by the UPA II government to have continued in office after the BJP government came to power. He took charge in July 2013.

Retired IPS officer and National Secretary of BJP Farooq Khan, who once spearheaded anti- militancy operations in Jammu and Kashmir, was appointed the Administrator of Lakshadweep. Khan, a 1994. He is the first Muslim from Jammu and Kashmir to get a prominent place within 15 months of his joining the party.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.