Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
Extension of e-Tourist Visa Scheme to 31 More Countries
May 04, 2015

Government of India has launched e-Tourist Visa (old Name: Tourist Visa on arrival enabled by Electronic Travel Authorisation) on November 27, 2014 to 45 countries from nine designated Indian Airports. 

This facility is being extended to 31 more countries from May 1, 2015. 

The new countries included in e-Tourist Visa scheme are:

  • Anguilla, Antigua & Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Canada, Cayman Island, Chile, Costa Rica, Dominica, Dominic an Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, France, Georgia, Grenada, Haiti, HolySee (Vatican), Honduras, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Montserrat, Nicaragua, Paraguay, St.Kitts & Nevis and Seychelles. 

With the above addition, the total number of countries under the scheme will go upto 76.

The scheme will be extended to more countries in a phased manner. The Government is committed to extend the scheme to 150 countries by the end of this financial year.

Before this inclusion e-Tourist Visa Scheme is available for the citizens of the following 45 countries:

  • Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Djibouti, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Laos, Luxembourg, Mauritius, Mexico, Myanmar, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Palestine, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Russia, Singapore, Thailand, UAE, Ukraine, Vietnam, USA, Cook Islands, Kingdom of Tongo, Tuvalu, Republic of Nauru, Republic of Kiribati, Vanuatu, Solomon Island, Samoa, Niue, Republic of Palau, Federated States of Micronesia, Republic of Marshall Islands, Fiji, Papua and New Guinea, Guyana and Sri Lanka. 

The same facility is reciprocated to the Indian citizens by the following countries: 

  • Thailand, Cambodia, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Jordan, Maldives, Macau, Timor Leste, Ethiopia, Madagascar, Seychelles, Kenya, Mozambique, Djibouti, Guinea-bissau, Mauritius, Sao Tome & Principe, Tanzania, Uganda, Burundi, Cape Verde, Comoros, Egypt, Gambia, Togo, Jamaica, EI Salvador, Saint Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, Bolivia, Guyana, Fiji, Samoa, Nauru and Tuvalu. 

Besides the countries mentioned above, Indians can also obtain Visa-on-Arrival in the following 23 countries subject to them being pre-cleared before arrival in the country:

  • Albania, Azerbaijan, Cameroon, DR Congo, Eritrea, Gabon, Georgia, Ghana, Iran, Israel, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, Liberia, Mali, Mongolia, Myanmar, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka, Suriname, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Vietnam.

The inclusion of additional countries in Visa-on-Arrival scheme is a continuous process which is done after appropriate consultation with all stakeholders.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.