Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
Establishment of Science Cities
Dec 26, 2014

National Council of Science Museums (NCSM), an autonomous organization under the Union Ministry of Culture is engaged in establishment of Science Centres throughout the country. NCSM is developing a Science City at Guwahati, Assam which will subsequently be handed over to the Govt. of Assam for future operation and maintenance. Proposals from various state governments have also been received for setting up of Science Cities. The Science Centres/Cities projects are taken up by NCSM in a phased manner depending upon the availability of resources, project handling capacity of NCSM and the existing level of science centre activities in that particular State.

The following proposals have also been received by NCSM for establishment of Science Cities:

  • Science City, Sampla, Govt. of Haryana

  • Science City, Bengaluru, Govt. of Karnataka

  • Science City, Navi Mumbai, Govt. of Maharashtra

  • Science City, Hyderabad, Govt. of Andhra Pradesh (before bifurcation into Telangana and Andhra Pradesh).

  • Science City, Patna, Govt. of Bihar

  • Science City, Nagpur, Govt. of Maharashtra

  • Science City, Bhubaneswar, Govt. of Odishab

  • Science City, Kumhari, Govt. of Chhattisgarh

Science Park is now an integral component of all Science Centres and Science Cities and hence is not set up as an independent facility. NCSM has not received any proposal from Govt. of Telangana for setting up of Science Centre/City after its creation.


Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.