Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
सेमिनार: अंग्रेज़ी सीखने का अवसर (23 सितंबर: दोपहर 3 बजे)
Election Commission of India is Elected Chair of Association of Asian Election Authorities
Nov 01, 2014

The General Assembly of Association of Asian Election Authorities elected Election Commission of India as Chair of the organisation for the next two years. Commissioner Cho Byoung-Hun of South Korea (outgoing Chair) felicitated V. S. Sampath, the Chief Election Commissioner of India, and assured him of full cooperation of S. Korea in strengthening AAEA and expanding its activities.

India accepted the responsibility of Chair, and thanked the members for the trust and confidence reposed in ECI. India underlined the importance of Asia as home of more than 60 percent of the world population and some of the strongest economies in the world. It stressed that AAEA should maintain a prominent profile in the fields of democracy and election management. India also shared his vision of expanding AAEA and making it truly representative by admitting several Asian countries, which are eligible to become members.

The Executive Board comprising S. Korea, India, the Philippines, Taiwan and Kazakhstan decided to endorse, among other things, admission of the Russian Federation as a new member of AAEA. The Executive Board meets annually to discuss important issues and report to the General Assembly of the Association which meets every two years.

The General Assembly elected the Philippines as Vice Chair and designated it as host for the next General Assembly. Mongolia, Bhutan and S. Korea were also elected as Executive Members. The General Assembly also admitted the Russian Federation, Uzbekistan and Maldives as new members, reviewed the activities of AAEA, received a report from the AAEA Secretariat and approved some amendments to the AAEA Charter to streamline selection of Executive Board members, their tenure and functioning of the Secretariat. Matters relating to Financing and future activities of AAEA were also discussed.

India is a founding member of AAEA which was established in 1998 and, with admission of three new members, now has 20 member-countries. Besides India, other members are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, South Korea, Kyrgyz Republic, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, the Philippines, the Russian Federation, Sri Lanka, Taiwan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan.

The organisation’s vision is to promote and institutionalise open and transparent elections, independent and impartial election authorities, professionalization of Asian election authorities, citizen participation in the electoral and civic process, information sharing, and the development of resources for election-related information and research.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.