Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
Development of the Rivers
Aug 22, 2014

Central Government by a Notification dated 20 February 2009 has set up the National Ganga River Basin Authority (NGRBA) under the Chairmanship of the Prime Minister, for conservation of the river Ganga. A provision of Rs. 355 crore is envisaged in the financial year 2014-15.

For development of rivers other than Ganga, a provision of Rs. 195.74 crore is envisaged in the financial year 2014-15 for implementation under National River Conservation Plan (NRCP). However, the subsequent river-wise allocation of funds under NRCP is to be done internally by Ministry of Environment & Forests. Centrally Sponsored Scheme of National River Conservation Plan (NRCP) is being implemented by the Central Government jointly with the State Governments on a cost-sharing basis. The pollution abatement works under NRCP presently cover identified polluted stretches of 40 major rivers in 121 towns spread over 19 States in the country. 

The names of the rivers development of which is being undertaken by NRCP are: 

Godavari, Yamuna, Mandovi, Sabarmati, Mindhola, Damodar, Subarnarekha, Pennar, Bhadra, Tungabhadra, Cauvery, Tunga, Pamba, Betwa, Tapti, Wainganga, Mandakini, Narmada, Khan, Chambal, Beehar, Kshipra, Krishna, Panchganga, Tapi, Diphu & Dhansiri, Brahamini, Mahanadi, Satluj, Beas, Ghaggar, Rani Chu, Adyar, Cooum, Vaigai, Vennar, Tamrabarani, Musi, Gomti, and Mahananda. 

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.