Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
Colour Codes for Air Quality
Apr 02, 2015

In order to make it easy for the common man to judge the air quality within his vicinity, the Ministry of Environment and Forest has launched the National Air Quality Index  (AQI) by which an area will be assigned a colour code based on the air quality.

  • The index is classified into six categories: 1. Good, 2. Satisfactory, 3. Moderately polluted, 4. Poor, 5. Very poor, and 6. Severe—with colour coding ranging from green to dark red

  • This index transforms various air pollution levels into a single number for a simple description of air quality to citizens.

  • The proposed AQI will map eight pollutants (PM10, PM2.5, NO2, SO2, CO, O3, NH3 and Pb) for which short term (up to 24-hourly averaging period) National Ambient Air Quality Standards are prescribed.

  • The Centre will launch an Air Auality Index (AQI) in Delhi and 10 other cities that will show poor, severe, moderate or good air quality through different colours. 

  • This is the first time the government will directly inform people about air quality.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.