Study Material | Test Series
Drishti IAS
call1800-121-6260 / 011-47532596
Drishti The Vision Foundation
(A unit of VDK Eduventures Pvt. Ltd.)
prelims Test Series 2019
बेसिक इंग्लिश का दूसरा सत्र (कक्षा प्रारंभ : 22 अक्तूबर, शाम 3:30 से 5:30)
Appointments to NITI Ayog
Jan 09, 2015

Arvind Panagariya, a free-market economist who teaches at Columbia University in the US is appointed the first Vice Chairman of the newly-created NITI Aayog along with six members and three special invitees. Economist Bibek Debroy and former DRDO chief V.K. Saraswat are appointed as full-time members by Prime Minister Narendra Modi who will be the Chairman of the body. Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Suresh Prabhu and Radha Mohan Singh were appointed as Ex-Officio members while Nitin Gadkari, Smriti Zubin Irani and Thawar Chand Gehlot will be Special Invitees.

Arvind Panagariya: 62-year-old Arvind Panagariya is an Indian-American economist and Professor of Economics at Columbia University. He will be the first Vice-Chairman of the body. He has earlier been the Chief Economist of the Asian Development Bank and a Professor of Economics and Co-director, Center for International Economics, University of Maryland at College Park.

The NITI Aayog will have a governing council comprising of all state Chief Ministers and Lt Governors and will work towards fostering a 'co-operative federalism' for providing a national agenda to the Centre and States.  Besides, there would be specific regional councils, while experts and specialists from various fields would be there as special invitees nominated by the Prime Minister.

NITI Aayog will serve as a Think Tank of the government as a directional and policy dynamo and would provide the governments at the Centre and in states with strategic and technical advice on key policy matters including economic issues of national and international importance.

Helpline Number : 87501 87501
To Subscribe Newsletter and Get Updates.